adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Everyone is hiding a secret. One of them is murder.

The book club was her idea, of course.

It was her way into our group. A chance to get close.

I knew from the day she arrived that she couldn't be trusted.

And I was right.

Alice didn't come to the village for peace and quiet.

She came for revenge. 

A deliciously addictive psychological thriller about a book club that unravels dark and scandalous secrets between one circle of neighbours. The perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Rumour.

©2021 C. J. Cooper (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"I raced through it - edgy, tense." (Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange)

"I for one am terrified of the woman next door!" (Louise Candlish, author of The Other Passenger)

"Tightly plotted, edge-of-seat gripping." (Sophie Hannah, author of Haven't They Grown)

What listeners say about The Book Club

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent read!!!

one of my favorite books by far!! such an experience! The performance has a great voice actor

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • AK
  • 11-11-21

Like a bad horror movie

I can’t believe this book has any good reviews. It’s like you’re watching a bad horror movie. Bad decision after bad decision. Characters don’t even have common sense about a stranger coming into their lives and they continue to be oblivious to the red flags. Do yourself a favor and don’t waste a credit on this book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow this was an AMAZING BOOK

It was a slow start but omg this book will have you guessing to the end. One of the best I’ve listened to!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fun Listen

I liked everything about this book. Great story, great character development, really good narration. I listen in the car and had a hard time stopping when I got to my destination!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping from start to finish

This is the best book I’ve read in a long time. It literally pulls you in from the very beginning, almost impossible to stop. The narrators accent can be difficult at times but the story is so good that it’s worth the effort. A heart churning, racing experience.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

boring

I'm sorry to say that this was an absolute snore fest with so many characters it was hard to keep track of them all. the storyline bounced around manically and made trying to listen while doing anything else futile.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

truths exposed all based on a lie

this was a well-performed and interesting book. I liked that the truths were exposed in classics. good listen

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

if you liked single white female

then this is your kind of book, revenge of a sociopath, but which one is she?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-26-22

not the best

ok read but not the best. I enjoyed the ending but it lost it's way for me in the middle.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicolle
  • Nicolle
  • 01-05-22

Enjoyable

Enjoyed the story
Guessed the motive mid way perhaps but appreciated the final twist
Didn't relate to any of the characters but Id say thats for the best 😂