adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $16.77

Buy for $16.77

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In many ways, my life has been rather like a record of the lost and found. Perhaps all lives are like that.

It's when life started in earnest. Hertfordshire, 1928.

The paths of Tom and Alice collide against a haze of youthful, carefree exuberance. And so begins a love story that finds its feet by a lake one silvery moonlit evening....

It's when there were no happy endings. Paris, 1939.

Alice is living in the City of Light, but the pain of the last decade has already left its mark. There's a shadow creeping across Europe when she and Thomas Stafford - now a world famous artist - find each other once more . . .

It's when the story begins London, 1986.

Bequeathed an old portrait from her grandmother, Kate Darling uncovers a legacy that takes her to Corsica, Paris and beyond. And as the secrets of time fall away, a love story as epic as it is life changing slowly reveals itself...

Sweeping and heartrending - the perfect listen for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

©2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited (P)2015 Lucy Foley

Critic Reviews

"A classic sweeping love story . . . moving and engrossing" (Katherine Webb)

What listeners say about The Book of Lost and Found

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-02-18

Wonderful escapism!

I finished this in two days - I got lost in Alice and Tom's story and I loved Kate's quest, too. it's fantastic escapism... I was transported to a Corsican summer and I felt that I learned a lot along the way about art and history. I didn't want to leave the characters at the end... they all felt so real to me. It broke my heart but in a good way! If you love art, beautiful locations, family secrets and epic love stories then this is for you.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MRS
  • MRS
  • 02-13-17

badly narrated

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Better narration. The storyline was interesting but not so interesting to make me want to continue with it.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

I only got as far as chapter 4 before giving up on this book. I found the narrator irritating because she constantly mispronounced various words and had a sort of staccato tone to her voice.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Agnieszka Bania
  • Agnieszka Bania
  • 10-14-16

really badly read which ruins the book

really badly read which ruins the book - so flegmatic it's impossible to concentrate. sorry seems interesting so I recommend a hard copy though this author's second book is much much better and beautifully read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-22-21

Escape to another time and place

I loved this book and the main characters in it. I sometimes got confused by the timing and events, as it went back and forth in time however the interesting storyline kept me intrigued until the end when it made sense about the lost and found characters in the book. I enjoyed how the author set the scenes in various cities and places. It was like I was visiting them too !

I liked the audio reader too, she has a very relaxing and soothing voice and it helped me sleep at night !

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Jane 50
  • Mary Jane 50
  • 07-11-21

Enjoyable though predictable

Lucy Foley writes easy to read holiday reading style stories
that translate into idealAudible books. While this story was a little predictable at times it was east listening, enjoyable on the beach or in the garden on a summers day. It was let down at time by a narrator who, whilst having a very pleasant voice, stumbled over pronouncing many simple words and whose emphasis, at times, was badly wrong. Perhaps this is just down to bad editing, but it was irritating, whatever the cause.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-15-21

Abrupt ending

Interesting storyline, perhaps too much detail and new story lines towards the end. Frustrating how the author always seems to rush the end of her books, as if she gets bored

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Brownsdon
  • Mary Brownsdon
  • 04-04-20

Wonderful!

One of the best Audiobooks I’ve listened to in ages - highly recommend! Loved the narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Currie
  • Karen Currie
  • 03-26-16

Loved it - engaging with some surprises!

What made the experience of listening to The Book of Lost and Found the most enjoyable?

There was a lovely 'feel' about this tale - I cared about its characters!

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I did cry especially towards the end with the details concerning the war

Any additional comments?

Highly recommended - I was sad to say Goodbye to the characters that I'd grown to know, admire and love

1 person found this helpful