1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly aloof bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

“Humor and charm abound.... [This] love story hits the spot.” (Publishers Weekly)

Thea Mottram is having a bad month. She’s been let go from her office job with no notice - and to make matters even worse, her husband of nearly twenty years has decided to leave her for one of her friends. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away, leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection, she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs.

Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and lovely but neglected garden. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can’t seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle’s book collection. His gruff attitude - fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local lord - tests Thea’s patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn’t experienced in a long time. As she follows a thrilling yet terrifying impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from.

©2020 Jackie Fraser (P)2021 Random House Audio

What listeners say about The Bookshop of Second Chances

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect!

First El Potter is an amazing narrator and one whose work I'll seek out from now on. (I have listened to thousands of audiobooks.) There was literally nothng I didn't like about this book. This is not a heavy, life-altering novel, but it is a very good one and was exactly what I needed. I especially liked the fact that the protagonists were older and somewhat unconventional as well as the fact that there was none of the Cinderella--hidden beauty just needed to be revealed--stuff. Character devleopment was appropriate to the story the author was telling. We got broad indications of what made the couple the people they were, but there's clearly a bigger story to tell--as in a sequel. More please!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I needed something sweet and low-stress

This book gave both the sweetness and lack of stress I’ve been needing :) I am sorry to see the characters go!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a master class in conversation

I would like to start with I don't normally write reviews I'm also using talk to text so do not judge me on typos or punctuation
first off the majority of this book is conversation whether it's conversation between people between friends or internal monologue and it is perfect
this book is light-hearted easy to blow through and very entertaining
one of the other reviews that I read said only the f word made this an adult book if you really feel that way then you were probably looking for something with more smut this is definitely adult book told through The eyes of a 40 something year old woman and it's fantastic

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Childish

This is like something I would have read in high school besides the use of the word Fuck used over and over to make it more of an “adult” genre.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable enough

A predictable, fluff listen. I found the main character a bit frustrating, primarily for two reasons: 1) her self-depre​cat​ion, which is exacerbated by 2) her obsession with social class (and how she's 'too common'). It'd be one thing if this were historical fiction, but the story is set in the present day, which makes it seem unnecessary. One or two mentions, fine; but it seemed continuous. Perhaps it's just my American sensibilities *shrug*

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Ell Potter!

Nice escapist romcom, but appreciate the 40-something point of view ! And a woman without children - navigating that time of life as suddenly single . Ell Potter is my favorite Brit narrator- so silky smooth and also a great variety of voices . Throughly enjoyed my book vacation in Scotland .

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very enjoyable

This is a nice low key, British style, rainy day kind of listen. The perfect amount of low intense drama with a cup of tea.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline and reading of this novel. I hope you enjoy it too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed every minute

Some books are just fun to read and this was one of them. The characters were well balanced and believable. The story was somewhat predictable but refreshingly so. I'm left with a happy heart.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Refreshing and satisfying

I quite enjoyed that the couple was older, and child free by choice. So many of the romance novels I stumble upon have women who’s happy ending involves a pregnancy—and I don’t personally relate to this. I loved seeing how this woman decided to fill her life with not only a love-interest, but with a new profession, friends, and taking interest in her family history and the landscape around her.

I also quite enjoyed the writing style and narration. There were often thoughts/sentences left unfinished with interrupting thoughts or conversations. Maybe it’s my adhd but I related to this style and it felt very genuine.

1 person found this helpful