• The Bookshop of Second Chances

  • By: Jackie Fraser
  • Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • 3.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.70

Buy for $15.70

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Set in a charming little Scottish town, The Bookshop of Second Chances is the most uplifting story you'll listen to this winter, by a hugely talented debut author.

Thea’s having a bad month. Not only has she been made redundant, she’s also discovered her husband of nearly 20 years is sleeping with one of her friends. And he’s not sorry - he’s leaving.

Bewildered and lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But, when she learns the great-uncle she barely knew has died and left her his huge collection of secondhand books and a house in the Scottish Lowlands, she seems to have been offered a second chance.

Running away to a little town where no one knows her seems like exactly what Thea needs. But when she meets the aristocratic Maltravers brothers - grumpy bookshop owner Edward and his estranged brother Charles, Lord Hollinshaw - her new life quickly becomes just as complicated as the life she was running from....

An enchanting story of Scottish lords, secondhand books, new beginnings and second chances perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Veronica Henry, Rachel Lucas and Jenny Colgan.

©2020 Jackie Fraser (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about The Bookshop of Second Chances

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Pretty uninteresting

Started out okay, but turned duller and duller. Kept hoping for some plot twists, but they never came. Boring and mediocre.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KW
  • KW
  • 03-27-21

Great story, brilliant narration

Absolutely fabulous narration but the story had much more about it than I was expecting too. Not the usual, reassuringly predictable, progress from low point to happiness - ending with the lead character getting her man. This was a whole lot more realistic and emotionally mature. Loved it. And look forward to more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Bassindale
  • Sarah Bassindale
  • 02-23-21

Fab book, well written

Loved it! Only fault is sometimes the audio sped up. Hope for more books!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for maria howard
  • maria howard
  • 12-01-20

Superb

Incredibley well written, not my usual genre, butI am extremely pleased that I went off piste so to speak, I can't wait for the next book by this Author.
Also my praise continues for the narrator, she was simply brilliant, in fact I do not think the story would have held me captive to such a degree, with another narrator,She was awesome,
Looking forward to hearing her again too. Well done to both of you

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alice
  • Alice
  • 04-26-22

Brilliant book

Loved this story the way it unfolded. Narrated beautifully. I thoroughly recommend you read it now & hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss F O A Nilsen
  • Miss F O A Nilsen
  • 09-18-21

Wonderful dialogue driven story telling

Fully formed characters with beautifully written dialogue. A wonderfully nostalgic read for anyone of my generation. Not a genre I would normally go for but the book was recommended and I'm very glad it was. Now if someone could lend me the money for my very own shed on a beach......

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie McFadden
  • Melanie McFadden
  • 07-16-21

Thoroughly Love It!

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to Jackie's book and hope she writes another! I know this is a novel I will listen to again. Looking forward to receiving my paperback version.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephie
  • Stephie
  • 05-04-21

I absolutely loved this book.

This book is well written, beautifully narrated, and an utterly satisfying story. I was really sad when I finished it. This is the first book in this genre that's really matched up to Jenny Colgan, and that's the highest accolade I could possibly give it. I can't wait to listen to something else by this author. (I hope she's writing quickly!!!)

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brenda Stephens
  • Brenda Stephens
  • 07-24-22

A very relatable and well written story

Loved it. I can see plenty of women liking the story as it's very plausible although the end is probably a little expected. still, an easy listen with some facts about books to take away.