1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He went missing when you were 16. Was it all your fault?

Trembling with shock, Jodie picks up the old T-shirt. She hasn’t seen it for 20 years. Her boyfriend had been wearing it—her Ben—the day he went missing. The last time anyone saw him alive.

After her dad’s funeral, all Jodie wants is to clear out her childhood home as quickly as possible and get back to life with her son. But a terrifying discovery changes everything she knew about her kind, loving father.

Her boyfriend Ben went missing when they were just teenagers. His parents still stare out the window desperately waiting for him to come home. So how did the T-shirt he was wearing when Jodie saw him walk away from their last date end up in her father’s attic?

The search for answers leads Jodie to an old family friend who knows all her father’s secrets. She can’t shake his questions about her older brother, and the real reason their dad left everything to Jodie, not him. But when a stranger begins to follow her around their little town and a deadly fire breaks out in her home, it’s clear someone will do anything to stop Jodie finding the truth about Ben's disappearance. Has Jodie unknowingly put her own son in terrible danger?

An absolutely addictive psychological thriller with a heart-stopping twist, about how even the people we love can hide the darkest secrets. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Am Watching You, and Shari Lapena.

©2022 Kerry Wilkinson (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Boyfriend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-20-22

Characterless characters

I can’t remember when I’ve last read a book where I cared so little about any of the characters. They were bland and completely forgettable. They had no redeeming features and quite frankly I don’t know why I bother to read it until the end. Very disappointing!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for crochetdiva
  • crochetdiva
  • 06-20-22

Excellent, but very poignant

In true Kerry Wilkinson style, a fantastic story, very well written. There aren't too many characters to get to grips with, but they all have a place in the plot.. Brilliantly narrated by Emma Newman.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Colette
  • Colette
  • 07-05-22

Disappointed

Love Kerry’s other books but just didn’t enjoy this one. It was slow, so slow, and I kept expecting it to become more interesting. Then I got to the stage where I thought, I’ve got this far, I have to give it a chance. Really wish I’d moved on, so depressing. Nothing positive I can think to say except the narrator was excellent.