• The Burning Island

  • By: Hester Young
  • Narrated by: January LaVoy
  • Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (129 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The newest haunting mystery from the beloved author of The Gates of Evangeline, featuring Charlie Cates, a headstrong heroine who must confront her unwanted supernatural gift and bring dark secrets to light if she ever wants to leave the Big Island....

Journalist Charlie Cates has always believed in facts, in what can be proved - her career depends on it. Which is why she has never truly accepted the supernatural visions that guide her to children in danger. After her work on a high-profile missing-child case brings unwanted fame, she reluctantly flees to the lush Big Island of Hawaii with her best friend, Rae. Determined to avoid her disturbing visions, Charlie begins writing what seems to be a harmless interview of a prominent volcanologist, Victor Nakagawa. But her hopes for a peaceful vacation are soon dashed by haunting dreams of a local girl who went missing six weeks earlier.

In the small and sleepy town of Kalo Valley, Charlie and Rae come to realize that even paradise has its ugly secrets, and the Nakagawa family is no exception. In order to find the missing teenager and stop a dangerous predator from striking again, Charlie is forced to embrace the gift she has always tried to conceal. Meanwhile, someone is watching her every move, and the closer Charlie gets to the truth, the more distant her chances of ever leaving the island alive.

With a deliciously eerie and fast-paced story told in vivid prose, all with an overlay of supernatural suspense, The Burning Island is a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jennifer McMahon and Kate Atkinson.

©2019 Hester Young (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

“Brace for a hair-raising cliff dive into waters dark and deep." (Publishers Weekly)

"Young engagingly weaves Hawaiian mythology, history, and sociology into a novel of suspense in a vividly portrayed setting, whetting the appetite for more of this psychic protagonist." (Booklist

"Intriguing characters and unanswered questions keep the story moving at an engaging pace....Those looking for solid suspense stories, especially those with psychic or supernatural elements, will enjoy this novel." (Library Journal

What listeners say about The Burning Island

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the story

The ending made me want a series to get written. I love the narrator and find myself looking for her as much as some of the authors I love. This book kept me guessing the whole time.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Didn't know what I was getting myself into

Was an awesome read. I was drawn into the book from chapter one and recommend the read

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

A gripping story read by my favorite narrator. I was not familiar with this author beforehand, but I’m definitely going to look for her other books.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A REALLY GREAT STORY WRITTEN VERY WELL

This is the 3rd book I've read by Hester Young. Basically continuing from book 1 to 3. All were great books and extremely well written mysteries written with a paranormal twist.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Three stars

The harshness in the voices made it hard to listen. This was not an enjoyable read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hawaiian Paradise?

This was not one of my favorite books in the series it started out kind of slow but It did pick up the end and overall it was pretty good.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

ONE STAR

I gave this one three attempts but it simply didn't hold my attention. Narration couldn't overcome the poor story.
Overall this might be a suitable challenge for an amateur group.
One star for effort and intention.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this read!

loved story and the narration by January lavoy. She is the only one I can bring myself to listen to.