• The Centurions

  • The Centurions 1
  • By: Damion Hunter
  • Narrated by: Andrew Kingston
  • Length: 15 hrs and 24 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $12.79

Buy for $12.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Against the mighty splendour of the glorious Roman Empire, unfolds the magnificent new saga, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden.

Correus and Flavius. Half-brothers, sons of a brilliant general. One, son of a slave woman, is a born warrior destined to excel. The other, a nobleman by birth, must struggle relentlessly to succeed.

When they both join the Centuriate, a position Flavius has always known he will inherit, and one that Correus has long coveted, it is together that they face the brutal reality of war. Fighting German barbarians will prove dangerous, not only to their bodies but to their souls as well...

The Centurions, book one in this epic Roman adventure trilogy, is perfect for Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane's fans.

Damion Hunter is a pseudonym of Amanda Cockrell. Along with the Centurions Trilogy, she is also the author of Pomegranate SeedWhat We Keep Is Not Always What Will Stay, the historical trilogies The Deer Dancers and The Horse Catchers, and The Legions of the Mist, a Roman historical adventure novel. She lives in Roanoke, Virginia.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

What listeners say about The Centurions

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story. For historical accuracy look elsewhere

It was a good story for sure, but if you're a stickler for historical accuracy it may not be for you. I liked the story but I am pretty well versed in Roman history and there were some glaring inaccuracies that grated the whole way through. The main one which in my mind was the most unforgivable was the fact that the centurionate in the Roman army did not function at all as described in the book as though it's akin to JROTC. Having military experience in the infantry I can also say that the relationship between the new centurion and his men is extremely oversimplified and shallow in this story and kind of a missed opportunity. The book is more of a story about the relationship between two brothers with the backdrop of a war.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

okay

I kept waiting for something that happen, and then it ended. 20 something chapters of average at best

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Breathtaking until the end. With very strong personalities. I have also bought book 2

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

First, the Narration was GREAT!

Not overdone, but parts were unique.
The Story a bit formulaic, but different enough + narration made for an enjoyable Read. I hope it can be maintained through the series.
In my OPINION, the “Griff Hosker” brand is all about quantity, not always quality. ‘Centurion’ was above the average.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I have a new favorite book!

I found it easy and extremely fat for me to be totally invested in the main characters. I can't wait to start the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr
  • Mr
  • 10-02-21

Very poor! Avoid

This may well be a good book but sadly I never got to find out, I tried it for 4 hours listening but it is let down by the absolutely pathetic narration.
You never get the feel of the story as the way it is narrated is more like story time at primary school.
It seems once again Audible have picked someone who does not and cannot express the story to keep you interested, just agreed to anyone that says they can narrate and employed them regardless.
The narrator would be better off doing voice overs for shampoo adverts and keep well away from audiobooks.
Shame really as it’s the first in a trilogy and if the first book is anything to go by then I’ll not be bothering with the next two.
I’m a big fan of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane etc- but they have narrators who can hold an audience and bring a story to life.
This book probably took a lot of time , effort and research to write only to be let down badly at the end by such a dire performance on audiobook.
Audible editors - start earning your wages and stop just taking a days pay!
There’s a big difference.
I’m sure you have ears that work maybe you should remove the ear plugs before commissioning such a disaster - I hope you’ve sent a massive apology to the author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 10-20-21

Gripping and Exciting Story

I knew that story was really good as I had read the novel in the early 80's and again 20 years ago. As soon as I saw it had recently been released in Audio; I immediately ordered it.
It is a different experience listening to the audio version; but the story continued to keep me riveted until the end.
The book (and the others in the Trilogy) explore a number of themes such as slavery, the training of Roman Soldiers, military strategy and the German Culture around AD 72. It is also a love story.
The story follows the adventures of a pair of Roman brothers; one free-born and one slave-born as they serve in the Roman legions. Their father was a successful Roman General whose sons where born the same year. He decided to give the same education and military training to both of them. His mistress's son was born to be a soldier and the story, in many ways revolves around him. After the father freed and adopted the slave son; they both trained together to be Roman Officers.
I really hope that the sequel "Barbarian Princess" is released in audio soon. It is just as good as the first one.