1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.22

Buy for $34.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Amy Ewing (The Jewel) comes the exciting first audiobook in a new fantasy duology. Rich, vivid world-building, and ethereal magic combine in an epic tale that’s perfect for fans of Snow Like Ashes, These Broken Stars, or Magonia.

Sera Lighthaven has always felt as if she didn’t quite belong among her people, the Cerulean, who live in the city above the sky. She is curious about everything - especially the planet her city is magically tethered to - and can’t stop questioning things. Sera has always longed for the day when the tether will finally break and the Cerulean can move to a new planet.

But when Sera is chosen as the sacrifice to break the tether, she feels betrayed by everything in which she’d been taught to trust. In order to save her city, Sera must end her own life.

But something goes wrong, and Sera survives, ending up on the planet below in a country called Kaolin. Sera has heard tales about the dangerous humans who live here, and she quickly learns these dangers were not just stories.

Meanwhile, back in the city, all is not what it seems, and the life of every Cerulean may be in danger if Sera is not able to find a way home.

©2019 Amy Ewing (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Cerulean

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was ok

I wish this book didn't use so much strong language. I almost stopped at the beginning. I like the story concept and finished it because of this but it would have been easy enough to omit the harsh language entirely. It added nothing to the story and just distracted from the characters. I can deal with some but pull out the G D word, with a teenager saying it, just why?

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator…from the Rugrats?

Couldn’t finish. Which sucks because the story seemed great. I’ll have to read it instead. I just can’t get past the narrator. She makes all the character sound like they are from the rugrats tv show. Sadly, just can’t get into the story because of that.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good!

The narrator was great and the story was fun. I am looking forward to the second book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

pleasantly surprised

I loved this. it had some slow bits and some bits that felt rushed, but overall great story and great performance!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

First book I've chosen not to finish

I had such high expectations based on other readers reviews, but this story was just too weird and disorganized. There is so much going on at once and not enough character building, I was not able to adequately follow the story line and juggle the characters. Reading should feel effortless, the pieces of the story should fit like a puzzle but this felt like jamming a square through a circle, just impossible. the only thing that kept me hanging on longer was the narrators wonderful voice and annunciation. I think the author had the right idea with this story but rough execution.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Promising concept, poor execution.

Amy Ewing had a great idea and concept, attempted at full-scope world building, but the execution and writing was not as good as I wanted it to be. The narrator did okay, but left something lacking. I wanted to give it a chance and get as close to finish as I could, but couldn’t make it beyond a few hours.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Literally why

I don’t usually write reviews but this book really angers me. When I first started reading and Sera was talking about her lack of attraction to the other Cerulean I thought that maybe we’re going to get an aromantic protagonist, which I’ve never seen happen before, but no she just ends up being straight. I feared this may happen and as soon as I did I dropped it.

Of course there’s nothing wrong with straight people but Sera’s race is entirely female so it honestly doesn’t make sense and seems like a slap in the face for queer people.

I wouldn’t say there’s much else going for this book. The characters were semi interesting but the plot is very slow going and it can be such a chore to get through.

So all in all if you were expecting something sapphic then I’m sorry to disappoint but it’s not coming from this book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole's books
  • Nicole's books
  • 03-21-21

incredible

I have never read anything like it, but that is what is so amazing about Amy Eweing's books.

Must read 10/10