• The Chariot at Dusk

  • Tiger at Midnight, Book 3
  • By: Swati Teerdhala
  • Narrated by: Sneha Mathan
  • Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (36 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The sweeping, dramatic finale of Swati Teerdhala’s South India-inspired fantasy trilogy rounds out the epic romantic tale of an assassin and a soldier fighting to save their country and their people. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard.

A queen at last. An empty palace. A kingdom to save.

Esha is reeling from Kunal’s betrayal, but she has a kingdom to rule from behind a thin smokescreen - pretending to be Princess Reha while she sends her most trusted soldiers to collect Reha and Kunal by any means necessary. Traitors, after all, must be punished.

But the Yavar are attacking from every front - tracking down Kunal and Reha in the remote mountains, kidnapping Harun - in search of legendary artifacts that will give them the power to break the precarious janma bond and release the destructive magic back into the lands.

Now that the race is on to find the missing artifacts, Esha must put aside her rage and work with Kunal again - but can she find the strength to forgive him, or will the Viper have her revenge at any cost?

©2021 Swati Teerdhala (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Chariot at Dusk

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Needed a lot more thought and editing

I agree with other reviewers that this book was not as mature as the first. A lot of repetitive phrases and conflicts. The misunderstandings and dialog are childish. It was deliberately drawn out in confusing ways. Ex. “He saw the box but something was wrong. It was open and empty.” In other words, “The box was empty.”

Also, she kept wanting to run to him but something stopped her. She was still mad. And he wanted to kiss her but something stopped him. He was still sad. Really, almost everyone was wanting to connect with someone but didn’t due to self doubt. It might have made sense if the characters were much younger and not battle hardened warriors.

I would not have listened to the rest of the series if this has been the first one. Wish the author had taken a little more time to refine their ideas.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Less heart and thought than Tiger at Midnight

I ADORED the first novel, Tiger at Midnight. However, If I'd known that it only got worse I would've quit while I was ahead.

Almost DNF'd multiple times. Weird pacing throughout and rushed endings and conflicts. Overall, pretty medium.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love every second of this book

I honestly couldn't not stop listening to this. The author does a great job balancing everything, and you learn so much more about the characters. Narration was great and intriguing.