• The Clockmaker’s Wife

  • By: Daisy Wood
  • Narrated by: Sophie Bentinck
  • Length: 11 hrs and 33 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (80 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Clockmaker’s Wife  By  cover art

The Clockmaker’s Wife

By: Daisy Wood
Narrated by: Sophie Bentinck
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The world is at war. And time is running out....

London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter - leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the clockmaker who keeps Big Ben chiming. 

When Arthur disappears, Nell is desperate to find him. But her search will lead her into far darker places than she ever imagined....

New York, present day. When Ellie discovers a beautiful watch that had once belonged to a grandmother she never knew, she becomes determined to find out what happened to her. But as she pieces together the fragments of her grandmother’s life, she begins to wonder if the past is better left forgotten....

A powerful and unforgettable tale of fierce love, impossible choices and a moment that changes the world forever, perfect for fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Hazel Gaynor.

©2021 Daisy Wood (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A ticking time-bomb of intrigue, wrapped around stark but rich descriptions of the Blitz. An unforgettable wartime debut." (Mandy Robotham, internationally best-selling author of The Berlin Girl)

What listeners say about The Clockmaker’s Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good book, bad narrator

You can hear lip and cheek smacking from the narrator through the whole book. It is very annoying and they wouldn't return the book......so I stuck it put.
Good book.....but read it on kindle.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heroism, Front and Center

I absolutely LOVE IT when a novel draws you so far in till you identify with more then 1 character and you truly experience what the characters are going thru, whether it's happiness or sadness, This Novel is exactly that and more. An absolute MUST READ! The Narrator is astounding! This novel keeps you so interested it's hard to stop it to sleep, your Soaring THAT high on suspense and captivating plot twists. I am totally hooked, I was afraid she would get set up in a tragic way... but, you will be as surprised as I was to find out what REALLY happens at the end. I really hope the storyline with these characters happens again, but the generations involved is wonderful. This Nobel was like "You are front and center in the action"