1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Vampires going to high school, but make it queer. Sterling delivers a fresh, thoughtful take on beloved paranormal tropes with a delightfully bloody romance.” (Mara Fitzgerald, author of Beyond the Ruby Veil)

From the author of These Witches Don't Burn comes another paranormal romance for fans of Richelle Mead and Stephenie Meyer.

Elise Beaumont is cursed. With every touch, she experiences exactly how her loved ones will die. And after her brother's death — a death she predicted but was unable to prevent — Elise is desperate to get rid of her terrible gift, no matter the cost.

Claire Montgomery also has a unique relationship with death, mostly because she’s already dead. Technically, anyway. Claire is a vampire, and she's been assigned by the Veil to help Elise master her rare Death Oracle powers.

At first, Elise is reluctant to work with a vampire, but when she predicts a teacher’s imminent murder, she's determined to stop the violent death, even if it means sacrificing her own future to secure Claire's help.

The trouble is, Claire and Elise aren't the only paranormals in town — a killer is stalking the streets, and Claire can't seem to shake the pull she feels toward Elise, a romance that could upend the Veil’s mission. But as Elise and Claire grow closer, Elise begins to wonder — can she really trust someone tasked with securing her loyalty? Someone who could so easily kill her? Someone who might hold the key to unraveling her brother's mysterious death.

©2021 Isabel Sterling (P)2021 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Sterling raises the bar with this wonderfully sapphic paranormal romance! Both thrilling and heartfelt, The Coldest Touch is a brilliant addition to the world of vampire lit, sure to leave readers thirsty for more." (Jennifer Dugan, author of Hot Dog Girl and Some Girls Do)

“Vampires going to high school, but make it queer. Sterling delivers a fresh, thoughtful take on beloved paranormal tropes with a delightfully bloody romance.” (Mara Fitzgerald, author of Beyond the Ruby Veil)

"The characters’ rich backstories and authentic teen voices make this book an enjoyable ride through the genre." (SLJ)

What listeners say about The Coldest Touch

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read/listen to this book, follow this author.

I've been waiting for this book for months. Not only do I love this author but I love both these narrators. It was fantastically done all around. Fun tidbit it was released on my birthday and it was the perfect present.

Anyway the character development and character arcs where the best part for this, though the plot and descriptive writing was done wonderfully too and the humor was well crafted and well placed.

I liked that Whiteness wasn't the default in this book, it really irritates me when authors only define the race of non-White characters as if whiteness should be assumed for everyone else.

I liked there being an non-binary character and that it wasn't something that was over explained. I loved that there was a bisexual guy, that almost never happens unless a is specifically book about m/m relationships and even then it's rare.

I do not generally read vampire novels. I was super into vampire fiction when I was a teenager longer ago than I want to think about, and since then I've avoided them, but I liked this take on them. The description of the book alone probably wouldn't have caught my attention had I not listened to another book by this author and been totally hooked on her writing.

Read/listen to this book, follow this author. Trust me it'll be worth it in every way.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exactly what I wanted form a book

As a queer starved for representation who enjoys paranormal stories and vampires — this book was an absolute delight to listen to.
10/10 on character development, it was so easy to relate to not only the main characters, but to all characters. I keep trying to listen to small portions at a time to prolong the experience but it's really hard with the captivating story and easy to digest style.
The voice acting was on point, I really enjoyed being able to hear two perspectives with two different voices and every emotion was delivered to my brain exactly as it was intended to.