1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the acclaimed author of Slay comes a gripping novel about brothers, grief and what it means to be a young Black man in America. For fans of Dear Martin and They Both Die at the End.

Sixteen-year-old Alex Rufus lives with his younger brother, Isaiah, in a quiet neighbourhood in Chicago. But recently, the neighbours are on high alert - whenever they see someone they don't think looks safe, they take matters into their own hands, often calling the cops without reason. 

Alex starts taking on more shifts at the local ice cream shop, Scoops, and spending time with his girlfriend, Talia. But then Alex starts experiencing visions of the future whenever he touches objects or the people around him. And when he picks up a family photo, he has a vision that his younger brother, Isaiah, is going to die - he can't tell how, but he knows it will be soon. 

All Alex wants is to protect Isaiah, but how can he protect him in the present when he knows the dangers of the future? And how will he ensure Isaiah's place in it when the one place he felt protected, his neighbourhood, doesn't feel like home anymore?

A story that speaks to hard truths about race, prejudice and the inherent injustice that permeates the world we live in.

©2021 Brittney Morris (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about The Cost of Knowing

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.