adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Eight-year-old Sophie Donohue just wanted to be like every other little girl. Which is why her mother, Janine, reluctantly agreed to let her go on the weekend camping trip with her Brownie troop. But when Janine arrives to pick up Sophie after the trip, her daughter is not with the others. Somehow, along the forested route from West Virginia, Sophie has disappeared.

Sophie is no ordinary eight-year-old. She suffers from a rare disease, and Janine has recently enrolled her in an experimental treatment as a last effort to save her life - despite the vehement objections of her ex-husband, Joe. Without her medication, Sophie cannot survive long. All her mother's instincts tell Janine that Sophie is alive, but time is running out.

©2001 Diane Chamberlain (P)2015 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Well-drawn characters and an unexpected and riveting plot make this a memorable thriller in the tradition of Joy Fielding and Mary Higgins Clark." ( Booklist)

What listeners say about The Courage Tree

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    144
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    103
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    17
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    247
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

✫✫ 4 Stars ✫✫

I am obsessed with the books this Author writes! I've listened to more than 1/2 of them in the last two weeks. I love the authors writing style and the seriousness off the books. I'm a romance reader normally but I am loving this women's stories that revolve around the subject matter and not the relationship.

This book kept me up way past my bedtime, I couldn't stop without knowing everything would be ok. The suspense in this story really hooked me. While the actress 7 her daughter in this book was a little far fetched and honestly not even necessary, the main characters made up for it completely.

The narration was good, she did a good job on all the different characters.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hated the Narrator!

I don't understand why some narrators feel the need to speak incredibly slowly and overly enunciate every word in a breathless melodramatic tone, but that is what this narrator did and I will not order another book read by her . To give her some credit, she did the characters well but her straight narration was really annoying to me. I have loved all of Diane Chamberlain's other novels so slogged my way through this listen, but I found this story to be less enjoyable than the others and am wondering if a different narrator would have made a difference. It probably would have!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Chamberlain!

I have listened to MANY of Diane Chamberlain's books and this is by far my favorite. Sometimes her writing can be a tiny bit predictable. I didn't find this book predictable in the least. I highly recommend this book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed

If you could sum up The Courage Tree in three words, what would they be?

Suspenseful, moving, heartwarming

Who was your favorite character and why?

Sophie, such a breve girl

Any additional comments?

Not sure why others didn't think this was a good book. I couldn't wait to hear what happened!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narration voice annoying & story is not realistic

Really disappointed in this book. Characters were not believable. I really struggle when characters do such unbelievable and illogical things as though the author was just cranking out a ghost story around a campfire.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Diane Chamberlain is Masterful

The Courage Tree is another one of Ms. Chamberlain's beautiful stories of the bond between a mother and daughter, and how far it will go for love and life. A young girl goes missing after a girl scout weekend, and later the car she was last known to be in was found in a ravine, completely burned. The young girl needs dialysis. Even though the police had given up their search, her mother was bound and determined that her daughter was still alive, against all odds.

Ms Chamberlain is an absolute joy to read/listen to. I love every one of her narrators, and each book I read from her just gets better.

Highly recommend.

5 stars

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The Courage Tree

I am only a chapter in and i can go no further. I am an RN and i cannot stand it when books are not medically accurate. There is no way a child with these medical conditions would be going away to camp two hours from home in the first place. If an author is going to write about a medical condition, then do your research and make the story plausible!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful book

Stick with this book. There are frustrating people that you want to lash out at & a main character you support with all your heart. There is a mystery man that has an interesting story when it finally comes out.
I don't think I've heard a bad Diane Chamberlain book yet!!! I'm off to decide on my next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Loved it. The story is very compelling. Narration is very good. Listened twice so I didn't miss anything.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

This book kept you on the edge of your seat. It was a great listen highly recommend. A great ending in the last chapter.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda S
  • Linda S
  • 09-28-19

Beautiful and moving

I love Diane Chamberlain’s books. They are moving and one can always empathise with the main characters.
Sometimes, a little long, they always have that human element that tugs in one’s heart strings. Sometimes you have to suspend your disbelief to allow for poetic licence but I highly recommend this book as well as her other novels

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 08-20-19

Compelling Reading

really good book, kept you wanting more withvevery chapter. lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer MacIver
  • Jennifer MacIver
  • 03-10-17

Loved this book.

Would you consider the audio edition of The Courage Tree to be better than the print version?

As I am unable to read the printed version, I don't know.

What did you like best about this story?

Kept my interest throughout.

What about Ann Marie Lee’s performance did you like?

It was beautifully read

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Davenhamgirl
  • Davenhamgirl
  • 09-07-20

First two thirds good, great narrator

Interesting to see how the two stories would entwine but then so many sub plot stories that detracted from the main event. Found the mother’s ‘pause’ in searching unbelievable given the character’s established personality. Still, what a jolly happy ending... contrived for which reader?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-27-20

SO WORTH IT

Tense throughout the whole book, with not a single dull moment. Ending was perfect too. Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patches
  • Patches
  • 05-07-20

The Courage Tree

Loved it! Heart warming, dealt with lots of different aspects of life, acceptance and diversity appeared the theme through out the story for me!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for audibleJames
  • audibleJames
  • 06-28-16

Diane Chamberlain is a great story writer

This book takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions. It's about a 8 year old girl that goes missing after a brownie camp. But she is sick. She has to be found before she dies. You will not be able to stop listening to the end. 5 stars for me. This is my first Diane Chamberlain book and I will be listening to more of her books. Thanks Audible.