• The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents America (The Audiobook)

  • A Citizen's Guide to Democracy Inaction
  • By: The Writers of The Daily Show, Jon Stewart
  • Narrated by: Jon Stewart
  • Length: 3 hrs and 46 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (4,547 ratings)
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.09

Buy for $17.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Jon Stewart, host of the Emmy and Peabody Award-winning The Daily Show, and his coterie of patriots deliver a hilarious look at American government.

Termed a "political king-maker" by Newsweek, and "the Dan Rather of infotainment" by Vanity Fair, Jon Stewart, along with the writers of The Daily Show, combines his riotous wit and razor-sharp insight in this hilarious book.

American-style democracy is the world's most beloved form of government, which explains why so many other nations are eager for us to impose it on them. But what is American democracy?

In America (The Audiobook), Jon Stewart and The Daily Show writing staff offer their insights into our unique system of government, dissecting its institutions, explaining its history and processes, and exploring the reasons why concepts like "one man, one vote", "government by the people", and "every vote counts" have become such popular urban myths.

Among the topics:

  • Ancient Rome: The First Republicans
  • The Founding Fathers: Young, Gifted, and White
  • The President: King of Democracy
  • The Supreme Court: 18 Legs, Four Tits, One Mission
  • Running for Office: What Are You Thinking?
  • The Media: Can It Be Stopped?
  • The Future of Democracy: The Constitutional Robocracy and You!

    This program contains explicit language.

  • (P)2004 Time Warner Audiobooks

    Critic Reviews

    • Audie Award Finalist, Humor, 2005
    • Quill Award Winner, Audiobooks, 2005
    • Grammy Award Winner, Best Comedy Album, 2005

    "Cheeky, irreverent, and playfully ingenuous....This humorous sendup of American politics never fails to entertain, poke fun, and provoke thought." (Publishers Weekly)
    "The devil's own comedic handiwork, a side-splitting guide to the abuses and absurdities built into our political processes and institutions....Sustained clever writing and a smart, durable premise....As with Mr. Stewart's priceless anchorman persona and his show's hawk-eyed editing for real news gaffes, there is enough truth here to make America almost as instructive as it is sly." (The New York Times)

    What listeners say about The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents America (The Audiobook)

    Average Customer Ratings
    Overall
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Stars
      2,281
    • 4 Stars
      1,173
    • 3 Stars
      662
    • 2 Stars
      247
    • 1 Stars
      184
    Performance
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Stars
      924
    • 4 Stars
      281
    • 3 Stars
      121
    • 2 Stars
      29
    • 1 Stars
      28
    Story
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Stars
      732
    • 4 Stars
      355
    • 3 Stars
      195
    • 2 Stars
      54
    • 1 Stars
      42

    Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

    Sort by:
    Filter by:
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars

    Runs hot and cold..but when it's hot...it's hot

    Listening to this book, I alternated between fits of side-hurting laughter and periods when it was a little slow. I'd estimate 25% of the time I found it hilarious, 50% amusing and the remainder a bit inane. However the 25% where you are laughing until tears run down your face makes it well worth being patient when they are off a bit. Overall, well worth the purchase price. Just don't listen to this while you are driving, or you might run off the road.

    86 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars

    Finally a book for stoned slackers...

    America (the Audiobook) is a fake Social Studies textbook brought to you by the same people that bring you a basic cable fake news show. If you love the Daily Show for its fart jokes and stories about the 'cooter festival,' then you will probably not enjoy most of this book. If you love the Daily Show for its sharp-witted writing and tounge-in-cheek satire then you should definitely download this book. The principles of the show narrate this audiobook with the same brilliant delivery that we have come to expect. I found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion. It is well edited and fast-paced; I highly recommend it.
    Ps. Don't worry, they still managed to work in a few fart jokes.

    19 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars

    If you love John Stewart you will love this!

    Scary to think that these guys do a fake news show. More scary to think that they are the best source for news and information. Great download, a must purchase. Can't wait for the book to come out. Fans of O'Reilly, Coulter, or Limbaugh probably won't enjoy this,

    150 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars

    Literate AND Funny!

    This book is core John Stewart. Rendering 10,00 years of human history in about 10 minutes of hilarity kept me on the repeat button of the Audible Player. The commentary by Stewart's sidemen adds bite & wit and keeps it from becoming a monotone monologue.
    Even if you have neither seen nor heard of John Stewart previously, this is the ultimate "Jumping On" point.
    And what a ride it is!

    6 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars

    Outstanding.

    This book underlines both the strengths and weaknesses of the current American geopolitical system in a funny, funny way. Highly recommended.

    6 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      2 out of 5 stars

    Lost in the Translation

    Much of what made "America (The Textbook)" so funny is lost in the audiobook format (including the place on the inside cover where you put your name, the year, and condition of the book ). Sometimes there is no substitute for the real thing.

    10 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars

    Not your typical audiobook

    Absolutely one of the funniest things I have ever heard. Listening to this book was like listening to:
    (1) The Daily Show version of history
    (2) A film strip
    (3) The classroom edition of a PBS special
    (4) Satire at its best

    Not a straight read-thru, which usually irritates me, this book had me giggling at the campy introductions, discussion questions, and classroom activities that are integral to each chapter. Makes good clean fun of everyone, from the voting public, the House of Representatives, the Cabinet, Justice Clarence Thomas, the media, other countries, and the founding fathers (and mothers).

    4 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars

    Delightful!

    Smart, sharp, and laugh-out-loud funny, the audio version is ehnanced by Jon Stewart's glib delivery, additional voice talents in various sections, and sound effects that enhance the "educational" format of each section. Absolutely a must, because the tone makes the tome!

    3 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars

    Funny, but no visuals

    This book is funny, but not very well suited to audiobook. The print version has pictures that add to the hilarity. I felt like the audiobook was missing something.

    11 people found this helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars

    Not one-sided

    I had been worried about John Stewart's increasing conservative-bashing but this book doesn't have any of that. Bits of astute political commentary mixed with hilarious sarcasm and classic Daily Show wit. I am just sorry it was so short.

    10 people found this helpful