1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling phenomenon Simon McCleave is back with a gripping, atmospheric new crime thriller series set on the Isle of Anglesey. 

Will there be blood in the water? 

Three years ago, DCI Laura Hart was the top hostage and crisis negotiator for the Greater Manchester Police. Then her husband was kidnapped. Despite her best efforts to reason with the criminals, he was brutally murdered.

Now living on the Isle of Anglesey in Wales, Laura is slowly healing. Then she gets a call: armed drug dealers have seized a tourist boat—and her 10-year-old son Jake is on board. There’s no other negotiator available, and the police need her to step up.

With the life of a loved one yet again on the line and memories of the last time she failed still searingly fresh, Laura is living her worst nightmare. Can she lay to rest the ghosts of her past in time to save her son?

An atmospheric, edge-of-your-seat story that’s perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Ann Cleeves and Elly Griffiths. 

©2022 Simon McCleave (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Action-packed! A great thriller in a gorgeous location." (Lisa Gardner, international best-selling author)

"A harrowing story set against a stunning backdrop. Anglesey becomes McCleave's newest brutal playground." (Morgan Greene)

"The tension keeps you gripped until the last page." (Rachel McLean)

What listeners say about The Dark Tide

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • MB
  • 05-23-22

I expected a strong female

Lead character, but Laura Hart wasn’t that lady. The story was good and improved toward the end, but the lead was somewhat needy with lots of unresolved issues that did affect her judgment. If there is another Laura Hart book I’ll try it, but I was disappointed .

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ann gayford
  • ann gayford
  • 07-23-22

drawn out

I don't like books that flit from one year to another. found the love scenes between a wife and her dead husband bizarre won't be buying anymore in thelus series. Well narrated

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-23-22

What a let down

After the first series this story was all over the place and totally unbelievable. I think that stories that leap backwards and forwards in time should carry a health warning. Thoroughly enjoyed the first series but won’t indulge in any further of this HLove

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for eGJ
  • eGJ
  • 06-12-22

Fast paced and unputdownable!

Set on the land and sea of Anglesey involving Laura’s past, present and future, this book has kept me hooked and listening for 24 hours! Narrated by a Welsh native who gets scouse right too, it won’t fail to disappoint. Next book please, Simon!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 06-06-22

Wow

Can't wait for the next book. What a cliff hanger. Excellent narration, brilliant characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bonita N. Jones
  • Bonita N. Jones
  • 05-29-22

Absolutely fabulous

Now not only Ruth, but Laura. Wow! What a cracker of a book, Simon draws his characters so well and I now look forward to hearing more about Laura and her crew as well as Ruth. Narration is brilliant. Thank you. More please