• The Darkest Corners

  • By: Kara Thomas
  • Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
  • Length: 9 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (547 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn's Dark Places and Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell - and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn't have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons - and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they'll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial Callie drifted, and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette - to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie's dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer - and this time it won't be so easy to run away.

©2016 Kara Thomas (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Gripping from start to finish, The Darkest Corners took me into an underbelly I didn't know existed, with twists that left me shocked and racing forward to get to the end." (Victoria Aveyard, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Red Queen)
"A tight, twisted thriller, full of deft reversals and disturbing revelations - deeply, compulsively satisfying!" (Brenna Yovanoff, New York Times best-selling author of The Replacement)
"As dark as Gillian Flynn and as compulsive as Serial.... Kara Thomas' mystery debut is intricate, chilling, and deeply compelling. Unforgettable!" (Laura Salters, author of Run Away)

What listeners say about The Darkest Corners

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    176
  • 3 Stars
    74
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    134
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    241
  • 4 Stars
    158
  • 3 Stars
    76
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Most definitely! Keeps you guessing.

What other book might you compare The Darkest Corners to and why?

Somewhat a Gillian Flynn book.

Which character – as performed by Jorjeana Marie – was your favorite?

the main character

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

How well do you know your family?

Any additional comments?

First time reading this author -- might be her first one -- I totally took a chance and it paid off. There wasn't even one review when I downloaded it.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

YA... Not the best narrator

Decent storyline- but def not comparable to Gillian Flynn's work. If I had known this was YA I wouldn't have purchased. Also, the narrator has an irritating nasally voice.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

keeps you listening

Great book. twists and turns keeps you listening. The narrator does a great job for the characters and the author's attention to detail makes you feel as though you are there. Very enjoyable. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I wish I had known...

I think this book should have been categorized as YA, and the teenage voice reading it should have blown her nose or gotten over her cold before starting narration. The end of the book was fairly interesting, but really just the last 30 minutes or so. I didn't hate it, but I definitely didn't love it

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!

WILL NOT SPOIL THIS BUT FOR IT BEING MY VERY FIRST EBOOK LET ME TELL YA- I FELL IN LOVE KEPT ME WONDERING AND WAITING BUT IT IS WELL WORHT THE SIDE OF THE BED SITTING ON EDGE WAITING TO FIND OUT. <3

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Snooze Fest

I was really disappointed with this book. It was very difficult to keep my attention, but kept holding on for the big reveal found in psychological thrillers. And when it came? Yawn. Still wasn’t feeling it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad

I’ve read all of Kara’s books and I’m a big fan. She’s one of my favorites. This is one of her first novels and not her best. A bit long for what it was and the reveals just fell flat. Good enough to finish but her writing has definitely improved with her later books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read!

I loved this book! It kept my interest the entire book. It’s been awhile since I had a book I did not want to put down! Definitely worth reading!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nonstop mystery

Grade: A-

Recent high school graduate, Tessa is reluctantly back from Florida, back to the podunk Pennsylvania town she'd rather forget, back to say goodbye to her dying father. She's staying with her ex-best friend's family. She hasn't spoken to Callie since moving to south after both girls testified to witnessing an abduction turned murder when they were eight, ten years ago. But, Tessa has secrets and she fears the wrong man is on death row.

I’ve read THE DARKEST CORNERS a few times. The twists and turns kept me hooked. Kara Thomas gave Tessa a believable, authentic voice of a young woman abandoned by choices her parents made, reluctant to trust, fueled by her desire to find her sister.

Tessa came by her distrust and bitterness with good cause, but I didn't like how both she and Callie lied often when unnecessary. I don't remember either girl showing a kindness toward anyone, and at times they acted thoughtlessly. The characters dripped hopelessness and despair.

THEMES: murder, prison, family, parents, siblings, friendship, mystery

THE DARKEST CORNERS is an interesting mystery with an ending that left me stunned.

ETA: I enjoyed the audiobook narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a capturing read

the stor6 takes a lot of amazing twists and keeps you on your toes

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RosePetal86
  • RosePetal86
  • 10-25-19

Great author

Love this author I wish Kara had more books. Really liked this story nice twist the narrator kept me
Interest too. Little monsters is still my fav by this author

1 person found this helpful