adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $7.00

Buy for $7.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Crayons have feelings, too, in this funny back-to-school story - now a number one New York Times best seller!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking — each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times best seller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

Audiobook cast of narrators:

  • Drew Daywalt as the Narrator and Pink Crayon
  • Marichelle Daywalt as Red Crayon
  • René Ruiz as Purple Crayon
  • James Patrick Cronin as Beige Crayon
  • Barrett Leddy as Gray Crayon
  • Robbie Daymond as White Crayon
  • John Lee as Black Crayon
  • Tara Sands as Green Crayon
  • Macleod Andrews as Yellow Crayon
  • Ron Butler as Orange Crayon
  • Kim Mai Guest as Blue Crayon
  • Max Meyers as Peach Crayon
©2013 Drew Daywalt (P)2021 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

Goodreads' 2013 Picture Book of the Year!

Amazon's Best Picture Book of the Year!

A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013! 

"Jeffers delivers energetic and playful illustrations. The drawings are loose and lively, and with few lines, he makes his characters effectively emote. Clever spreads, such as Duncan’s 'white cat in the snow' perfectly capture the crayons’ conundrum, and photographic representations of both the letters and coloring pages offer another layer of texture, lending to the tale’s overall believability. A comical, fresh look at crayons and color." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Fresh and funny. Oliver Jeffers' quirky, joyful illustrations convey the strength and comedy of the crayons' sentiments, and children ages four-eight will laugh in recognition at seeing their own color preferences reflected back at them." (The Wall Street Journal)

What listeners say about The Day the Crayons Quit

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.