adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Thousandth Floor

New York, 2118. Manhattan is home to a thousand-story supertower, a breathtaking marvel that touches the sky. But amidst high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, five teenagers are keeping dangerous secrets…

LEDA is haunted by memories of what happened on the worst night of her life. She’ll do anything to make sure the truth stays hidden—even if it means trusting her enemy.

WATT just wants to put everything behind him…until Leda forces him to start hacking again. Will he do what it takes to be free of her for good?

When RYLIN wins a scholarship to an upper-floor school, her life transforms overnight. But being there means seeing the boy whose heart she broke, and who broke hers in return.

AVERY is tormented by her love for the one person in the world she can never have. She’s desperate to be with him… no matter the cost.

And then there’s CALLIOPE, the mysterious, bohemian beauty who arrives in New York determined to cause a stir. And she knows exactly where to begin.

But unbeknownst to them all, someone is watching their every move, someone with revenge in mind. And in a world of such dazzling heights, just one wrong step can mean a devastating fall.

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, the sumptuous second book in the bestselling Thousandth Floor series has all the drama, romance and hidden secrets that landed the first book in this series at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list!

©2017 Alloy Entertainment and Katharine McGee (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Dazzling Heights

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    138
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    158
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Futuristic Melrose Place with rich teens

I can’t help myself, I love this series. It’s like if Melrose Place was in the future but they were teenagers. So good. A lot of futuristic books are too far-fetched to be believable but this one is plausible. Sometimes it feels like there’s too many characters to keep track of, but then they all kind of interweave together so it ends up making sense. If you were hesitant because you don’t know if you should be reading YA books as an adult, just throw out a side, set up the hammock, fix a mimosa, and enjoy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great sequel

A great young adult series... plenty of twists and turns, and suspense! This book was hard to wait until the next commute to listen to more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning follow-up

Started slow like the last book but quickly became a page-turner (so to speak)! Wowwowowowow!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great sequel, great performance.

This was a great sequel - I enjoyed the new characters that were introduced and the new plot lines. Even in my late twenties, these books are such fun escapes and so imaginative of the future of our society! Very easy listening.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

All the bad from the first, none of the good

First off I should note that I'm not the target audience so I might not enjoy it as much as it deserved. I feel like book 1 had a lot of kind of sappy romance supported by a cast of interesting characters with really fascinating motivations and pressures. Leda, for example, felt like a person dealing with a very real problem with drugs. Her relationship to Atlas was just a reason for the drug plot to get accelerated. Eris was a fascinating character torn between being okay with her new life and wanting the trappings of her old one. Good characters. Book 2 kind of sand-blasts off all the interesting facets of the characters and leaves the boring parts. Leda doesn't have any drug problem anymore, despite being under a huge amount of stress, because, and I quote, "it had become a matter of pride, and Leda's pride was even bigger than her anxiety". The key to what made her interesting in the first book just explained away. Avery and Atlas continue to be pretty boring characters. Atlas has no real defining features other than loving Avery and being persued by other girls, and Avery is frankly very unreasonably jealous and hard to sympathize with. She doesn't tell Atlas anything about the events of the first book for no real reason because of plot requirements and mostly just mopes about. Every time a male and female character are together, no matter who it is, they feel intense sexual tension between each other. I mean literally every male and female character. Avery and Cord, Rylin and Cord, Rylin and her teacher, Leda and Watt, everyone. All the relationships seem purely sexual (nothing like Mariel and Eris, which actually felt real and sweet). Basically repeats the story of the first book but without those elements of the first book that made it good.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

still hooked

I thought I was going to hate the second book bc it starts off doing exactly the opposite of what I liked about the first book; it didn't stop the storyline to explain things. once you get past those first few chapters of recap and such then it's back into the story and drags you back in! I'm ready for the third.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SOOOO GOOD

Cannot believe Book #2 was as good as the first one! Honestly so friggin' awesome. Narrator is great, storyline is great. So entertaining.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating characters and storyline

What did you love best about The Dazzling Heights?

The author has created an unbelievable world or back drop, with people having unbelievable technology at their fingertips. But ... the characters have the same issues that anyone throughout time could have experienced.

What about Phoebe Strole’s performance did you like?

The narrator does an excellent job.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

This book wisks you into an unimaginable, everyday future and makes you 'think', "what if?".

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun listen

Not as good as first but I still thoroughly enjoyed it, hoping there is a third!! Would recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

shockers<br />

Great narrator.
I loved The Thousandth Floor so much I couldn't wait for this book to come out.
Katharine did not disappoint keeping these characters extremely "interesting". can I just say I never seen that coming and I love all the twists.