1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Devil's Elixir  By  cover art

The Devil's Elixir

By: Raymond Khoury
Narrated by: Richard Ferrone
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin, heroes of Raymond Khoury's best-selling Templar thrillers, return in an edge-of-your-seat story that reaches from the present day back to 1800s Mexico - and possibly beyond.

What if there was an herb, previously lost to history in the jungles of Central America, capable of inducing an experience so momentous it might shake the very foundations of Western civilization? What if powerful forces on both sides of the law got wind of that herb, and launched a violent, uncompromising pursuit to be the first to exploit it?

And what if FBI agent Sean Reilly and his girlfriend, Tess Chaykin, were, unknowingly, the only two people who could keep the lid on this existential Pandora's box, one that's capable of destabilizing the world?

In Raymond Khoury's million-copy-selling Templar novels, Sean and Tess traveled the globe to unravel ancient mysteries with present-day ramifications. In The Devil's Elixir, Sean and Tess find themselves in a race-against the clock, against drug kingpins, and even against the DEA-to merge two divergent trails, one several hundred years old, the other as current as a heartbeat, which together may lead humanity to the brink of annihilation.

Packed with the nonstop suspense and unexpected twists Raymond Khoury's fans delight in, The Devil's Elixir is destined for best seller lists everywhere.

©2011 Raymond Khoury (P)2011 Penguin

Critic Reviews

"The author provides enough contextual backstory for new readers without risking vexing loyal fans. His ample cultural references are fresh, and most should withstand the test of time. History, mystery, suspense, and action - Khoury knows the recipe for a good read." (Library Journal)

"A fine thriller to start the new year with. A sure bet for fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins, too." (Booklist)

What listeners say about The Devil's Elixir

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Stick to the earlier Templar books.

This book was advertised as being part of the Templar series. While the central character was in the previous two books, this one has no connection to Templer history, lore,etc. The story line was ok but the violence was too graphic for my tastes. I did like how chapters were told at times from the first person and from third person in others.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story, poorly read.

Richard Ferrone was either given to mispronunciations and grammatical errors or the editor was remarkably lax...or both.
A good story nonetheless.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

20 Minutes in, and I can't listen anymore

As others have stated, the fact that three books into the series, he suddenly decides to have one of the main characters presented in first person, is weird, irritating, and pointless in my opinion. Loved the first two, books, with The Last Templar being on of my favorite books of all time. I do not like first person books, so this was a complete waste of a purchase. After 20 minutes, I cannot finish. Why, Raymond, why did you have to change things up so drastically? It completely changes the way the story flows. Super disappointed. Will definitely make sure I do a ton of research before I ever buy another Khoury novel. I honestly don't think it would be too much to ask for him to re-write this but in the original format of the series...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Intriguing topic

Captivating story, definitely keeps you hooked. As usual the topic is controversial, and we are kept guessing. From shamanism to reincarnation, you are in for a ride.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Done with Khoury

What would have made The Devil's Elixir better?

Stick with 3rd person narration. I don't understand why, on the third book of a series, the author suddenly decides to have 1st-person narration by one of the protagonists. Oh, and a better story would've helped.

What could Raymond Khoury have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Make the antagonist seem a little more relatable. A great villain is someone that the reader can almost identify with. This guy was just pure evil just for evil's sake. I think most readers/listeners know who the bad guy is, so there's no need for overkill.

What three words best describe Richard Ferrone’s performance?

Not very imaginative. He only has the ability to do Male, Female, and both with a bad Brooklyn accent. One of the primary characters is a Latino drug lord. Apparently this guy sounds like every other Gringo male in the book.

Any additional comments?

Skip this book. I am a little OCD about completing series, and this one I will ditch.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid book that fits Khoury’s style nicely

I must admit, I was happy with the shift away from the Templar theme that drove the story in the last 2 books. On the other hand, it lacked many of the historical asides that I enjoyed with those stories. Nevertheless, it’s on point with Mr. Khoury’s ability to weave details, intrigue, twists, action, and a hint of romance into a book’s pages.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A Last Templar book with nothing todo with templar

by itself not a bad story. but the series might as well be named after agent Riley instead of the first book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

not as good as first 2 but still enjoyed

I will admit that this isn't as good as the first two but I thoroughly enjoyed this still. didn't love the first person parts of reilly I think the author had found enough ways to tell the people's thoughts in the first two books but it grew on me as the book went on. overall I enjoyed it

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I love historical fiction and have read this author before, but this was very disappointing. The first few pages started with a historical lead in and was never touched again. If I had wanted an FBI vs Drug Lord book I would have bought one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A bit too dark for my taste

I have enjoyed the first two books in this series. I like the history aspects with a little adventure. But this was a bit too gorey and sadistic. Not my favorite.