1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $42.52

Buy for $42.52

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Discord of Gods marks the epic conclusion to Jenn Lyons's Chorus of Dragon series, closing out the saga that began with The Ruin of Kings, for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss.

The end times have come. 

Relos Var's final plans to enslave the universe are on the cusp of fruition. He believes there's only one being in existence that might be able to stop him: the demon Xaltorath. 

As these two masterminds circle each other, neither is paying attention to the third player on the board, Kihrin. Unfortunately, keeping himself classified in the "pawn" category means Kihrin must pretend to be everything the prophecies threatened he'd become: the destroyer of all, the sun eater, a mindless, remorseless plague upon the land. It also means finding an excuse to not destroy the people he loves (or any of the remaining Immortals) without arousing suspicion. 

Kihrin's goals are complicated by the fact that not all of his "act" is one. His intentions may be sincere, but he's still being forced to grapple with the aftereffects of the corrupted magic ritual that twisted both him and the dragons. Worse, he's now tied to a body that is the literal avatar of a star—a form that is becoming increasingly, catastrophically unstable. All of which means he's running out of time.

After all, some stars fade—but others explode.

©2022 Jenn Lyons (P)2022 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Discord of Gods

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What happened.

I love this book. I love this series. It's already one of my favorites but what the hell happened in recording this? You've recorded four books before this and yet Feodor Chin has completely forgotten what Thurvisahar sounds as well as the voices he has done for the characters in three other books. Vikas Adams at least remembers what Kihrin sounds like, if suddenly forgetting what other characters. Lauren Fortgang seems to be the only oen to remember the voices she is supposed to do and does a great job. I'm really disappointed in the audiobook version of this. It's so jarring to have consistent voices for characters in 4 books only for Vikas and Feodor screwing up at the ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent wrap up to a great series!

This series has been incredible, and the finale was everything I wanted and more. I also deeply appreciated how the author said “traditional heteronormativity and cisnormativity in my fantasy world? No thank you!” It’s a fantasy world, and she made it her own!

The book deals with a lot of heavy themes, too, including antislavery, antifascism, anticolonialism, anti-imperialism, racism, sexism, homophobia (including internalized!), and what it means for a “bad guy” to get a redemption arc. Was everything handled perfectly? No, of course not, but the author did a great job of trying to be consistent and allowing us as the audience to grow and change with our main character, Kihrin, and to learn more about the world and people’s differing and sometimes conflicting actions and motivations.

This book was a great way to end a series I highly enjoyed, and I look forward to coming back again!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great sorry but…

This has been a big surprise for me since first reading The Ruin Of Kings. Loved the development of characters and the story telling. When I talk about those two things, this is easily one of my favorite series.

Now, my dislikes can be summarized in two ways: Gender identity and LGBTQ. I have no problem with either of these things except the excessive. Out of our main characters almost everyone of them has a homosexual relationship. I’m sorry but that isn’t even close to average. This is a story and anything is possible, I understand that but these two things were pushed soooo hard. The second book is as much a story as it is a lesson on gender identity. How I rank if I love a book comes down to recommending it. I loved the story and characters but I had a hard time recommending this series for these two reason. Lastly, loved the story but didn’t love the push on movements.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this beyond

i loved this series and I can not say how much! well written and well acted

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great characters

The story ends in a great manner, well told! The characters come alive in this story!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

intriguing story regardless of the dialog

the final book. the final time I'll complain about the over abundance of needless swearing by all the characters. the world created is quite fascinating, the descriptions of gods, magic, afterlife are worth the read. But I nearly stopped so many times through the four books due to the over use of needless swearing. usually that is to add spice to a story... A little bit of cinnamon goes a long ways, spoonful after spoonful is undigestable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic and stunning end to a story.

Masterpiece is an understatement. I would be hard-pressed to find a better finish for such a wonderfully written trek the emotions and hardships the characters have faced. The series as a whole is a breathtaking saga worthy to be considered great. Fantastical battles of gods and great forces begging to be on the silver screen. Narration that leaves you hanging on every word. I am breathless at this conclusion. Jenn Lyons, I thank you for writing a story I can gladly carry as a treasured memory. For this life, and the next.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

woke gender ideology BS

I really enjoyed the first 2 books. then out of no where in book 3 the author started pushing gener ideology in every other paragraph amd continued on through this book. when it first started I was like ok is is just character development. then it continued all the way to the end. I do not recommend the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid conclusion to a great series

This one didn't land quite as strongly as The House of Always, in large part because many of the twists and emotional beats were fully expected. Even so, the conclusion here did a tremendous job of feeling deserved and wrapping up the major threats of the series. There are still plenty of potential stories that could be told in the universe, but the 14,000 year story involving conflict between the brothers Sarek and Relos Var is done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an excellent conclusion to an excellent series

not only has this series become one of my favorite seires I've read but this conclusion has solidified its place in my heart

.