1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $42.52

Buy for $42.52

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Discord of Gods marks the epic conclusion to Jenn Lyons's Chorus of Dragon series, closing out the saga that began with The Ruin of Kings, for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss.

The end times have come. 

Relos Var's final plans to enslave the universe are on the cusp of fruition. He believes there's only one being in existence that might be able to stop him: the demon Xaltorath. 

As these two masterminds circle each other, neither is paying attention to the third player on the board, Kihrin. Unfortunately, keeping himself classified in the "pawn" category means Kihrin must pretend to be everything the prophecies threatened he'd become: the destroyer of all, the sun eater, a mindless, remorseless plague upon the land. It also means finding an excuse to not destroy the people he loves (or any of the remaining Immortals) without arousing suspicion. 

Kihrin's goals are complicated by the fact that not all of his "act" is one. His intentions may be sincere, but he's still being forced to grapple with the aftereffects of the corrupted magic ritual that twisted both him and the dragons. Worse, he's now tied to a body that is the literal avatar of a star—a form that is becoming increasingly, catastrophically unstable. All of which means he's running out of time.

After all, some stars fade—but others explode.

©2022 Jenn Lyons (P)2022 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Discord of Gods

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

intriguing story regardless of the dialog

the final book. the final time I'll complain about the over abundance of needless swearing by all the characters. the world created is quite fascinating, the descriptions of gods, magic, afterlife are worth the read. But I nearly stopped so many times through the four books due to the over use of needless swearing. usually that is to add spice to a story... A little bit of cinnamon goes a long ways, spoonful after spoonful is undigestable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic and stunning end to a story.

Masterpiece is an understatement. I would be hard-pressed to find a better finish for such a wonderfully written trek the emotions and hardships the characters have faced. The series as a whole is a breathtaking saga worthy to be considered great. Fantastical battles of gods and great forces begging to be on the silver screen. Narration that leaves you hanging on every word. I am breathless at this conclusion. Jenn Lyons, I thank you for writing a story I can gladly carry as a treasured memory. For this life, and the next.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

woke gender ideology BS

I really enjoyed the first 2 books. then out of no where in book 3 the author started pushing gener ideology in every other paragraph amd continued on through this book. when it first started I was like ok is is just character development. then it continued all the way to the end. I do not recommend the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid conclusion to a great series

This one didn't land quite as strongly as The House of Always, in large part because many of the twists and emotional beats were fully expected. Even so, the conclusion here did a tremendous job of feeling deserved and wrapping up the major threats of the series. There are still plenty of potential stories that could be told in the universe, but the 14,000 year story involving conflict between the brothers Sarek and Relos Var is done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an excellent conclusion to an excellent series

not only has this series become one of my favorite seires I've read but this conclusion has solidified its place in my heart

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Absolute Masterpiece

The narrators for this series are phenomenal. Truly I don't think I would love this series half so much as I do if it wasn't for the stellar performances of the entire cast.

The overall story is everything I hoped it would be. and while there are things that are left open, I am content with how this story was wrapped up. though I do wish we could revisit these characters one day. They feel like old friends I know I probably will never see again.