adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.17

Buy for $38.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The second book in an emotional and heartwarming WWII series. For fans of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves. 

Dover, 1940

As the Battle of Britain rages, the Castle family are standing their ground at the heart of the community, running Castle's Café. German guns shell Dover and danger lurks around every corner, but despite this, Lily Castle is excited to be starting her nursing career at last. 

Lily is enjoying her life. She's a good nurse, has a group of friends at the hospital and there is romance on the horizon. That is until her world comes crashing down around her. When she tries to help an injured prisoner of war at the hospital, she ends up implicated in a crime. With her career, relationships and reputation at stake, Lily must fight to clear her name - before it's too late.

Meanwhile, there are strange goings on at the café. Rumours are circulating, and there are secrets that won't stay hidden for long. Secrets that could tear the Castle family apart - once and for all.

©2021 Ginny Bell (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about The Dover Café on the Front Line

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    117
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Easy Read and very enjoyable

Really enjoyed this book. The family pulls you in and makes you want to know what happens to them next!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this series

Although the tragedies are there; the humor is also and the characters are wonderful! And ver well narrated!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love her work

Ginny Bell takes you to the people. She make the characters come alive and can’t wait until the next book comes out.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrative depicts the characters so well.

I love this story, this family, and the way the narrator, Bea Holland portrays each character! I can't wait to listen to Book 3!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this

I have enjoyed the first two books of this series and look forward to the next in this series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chantelle
  • Chantelle
  • 12-19-21

The castle saga

Loved it the narration was really good as well. Cannot wait for the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V_Nerdbooks
  • V_Nerdbooks
  • 12-07-21

the Dover cafe

hope the next book is as good as the first 2cant wait .What a story great read and great narrated .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EmmaRay
  • EmmaRay
  • 04-14-22

Another fabulous book

Just another brilliant book. The second book in this series and I can not wait until September for the third. Fantastic characters continued and has left me hanging for the next …..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-04-22

Another wonderful story.

What wonderful writing and narration. I am hoping that the third book on the series is now available.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LAJ246
  • LAJ246
  • 04-04-22

Dover Cafe series

I was gripped from beginning to end. Can't wait for the third book to be released.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Y.Spencer
  • Y.Spencer
  • 03-23-22

Loved it, l really felt l was there .

l loved this story l really felt that l was there with them throughout.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amelia
  • Amelia
  • 03-19-22

Decent 2nd Book

Pretty much follows on from the first in the series, it starts just a couple of weeks later. Waiting on the third to be released now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beverley S. Thompson
  • Beverley S. Thompson
  • 03-11-22

Brilliant

Another wonderful story. Couldn’t put it down. Can’t wait for the next book, The Dover Cafe Under Fire.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carmel Rickman
  • Carmel Rickman
  • 03-10-22

Absolutely engrossing !!

I seriously cannot wait for the third installment of this gripping family saga !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 02-25-22

Compulsive listening.

I loved this story, the characters feel real and are interesting.
More if you please!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-20-22

Loved every moment of this book.

What a superb story.
You fall in love with the characters in this war time saga.
So sad I have to wait to hear the next installment.
Would be brilliant made into a TV show

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-18-22

a great listen,

a great listen, gets you well in involved in the story. well done. loved it

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael W
  • Michael W
  • 11-11-21

Great book.

A few editing issues. Once they are fixed the book can have 5 stars. Please fox them!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-30-21

Loved it

A few laughs a few tears I have got to know these Characters I am looking forward to the next one it’s a bit addictive thank you