• The Dragon's Promise

  • Six Crimson Cranes, Book 2
  • By: Elizabeth Lim
  • Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
  • Length: 14 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (119 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Dragon's Promise  By  cover art

The Dragon's Promise

By: Elizabeth Lim
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it... Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy.

Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon's pearl to its rightful owner, but keeping that promise is more dangerous than she ever imagined.

She must journey to the kingdom of dragons, navigate political intrigue among humans and dragons alike, fend off thieves who covet the pearl for themselves and will go to any lengths to get it, all while cultivating the appearance of a perfect princess to dissuade those who would see her burned at the stake for the magic that runs in her blood.

The pearl itself is no ordinary cargo; it thrums with malevolent power, jumping to Shiori's aid one minute, and betraying her the next—threatening to shatter her family and sever the thread of fate that binds her to her true love. It will take every ounce of strength Shiori can muster to defend the life and the love she's fought so hard to win.

©2022 Elizabeth Lim (P)2022 Listening Library

What listeners say about The Dragon's Promise

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved this beautiful end to this wonderful duology

Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟✨

Y'all... the ending made me so happy I cried lol. Shiori made so many sacrifices, she deserves every bit of happiness she is able to have.

4 stars for the majority of the book, though the ending really made me emotional. Fast paced and magical, I think this is truly a beautiful enchanting duology.

Also I will kind of always be Team Seryu, but damnit if Takkan and Shiori don't make my heart sing.

Narration was also great, I do enjoy Emily Woo Zeller's work!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun Story

I really enjoyed the world that unfolded but some of the aha moments were obvious. The end was tied up way to quickly leaving a ton of unanswered questions and subplots wide open. I’m assuming it was done in order to possibly write more books.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A near tragic end, but satisfying

So, there was a lot going on in this book, a story I thought would be stretched to 3 books ended up getting wrapped up in two. It starts slower pace in the beginning, a visit to the dragons as Shiori tries to honor all her promises/ commitments.

The action ramps up, but slows in spots to allow important moments to breathe and let you settle with them.

The main character does brash things, she tries to learn from her mistakes but there is a small amount of luck that continues to help where her impulses have her fall short. Overall I enjoyed all the characters.

I saw part of the end coming, though was surprised by the execution that got it there. I was worried it would be bleak/tragic/ bittersweet as these stories can sometimes be, but... without spoiling too much, it threads the needle of outcomes to satisfy I feel.

the only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is there's a bit of deus ex machina used and that feels... while I guess it fits with Luck usually pulling her out of the fire, I feel it hurts agency a bit, bit overall I'd still recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this sequel!

loved it. struggled to put it down! such a well shaped storyline and characters

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Probably best read physically

Not quite as engaging as the first book. Might be best to read it physically, though. The narrator is fine until she does Kiki or any sort of yelling.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bravo! Wonderfully crafted story!

This tied so well into the first story, even including the touch with the detail the original Hans Christian Anderson sorry had about the youngest brother at the end of the tale of the wild swans! I love the elements of Asian folklore, such as the rabbits and the moon, red string of fate, etc.

Zeller's 2 part stories in this world leave me wanting more, but also have a wonderful full ending and do not overstay their welcome. Too many series feel like they end up beating a dead horse to stretch out the romance and suspense. Really good read, and wonderful listen with Elizabeth Lim narrating. Highly recommended for lovers of folk and fairytales!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love these artists

I have been listening to every book from Elizabeth Lim as it’s come out on audio. I love the seamless blend of old folk tales and a new setting.

Emily Woo Zeller is an asset to this book. She could make a calculus textbook interesting.

Definitely read the previous book and the two in the Lim’s other series before this one. It will be very worth it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Sequel To The Six Crimson Cranes Duology!

“It’s a legend of cranes and demons and dragons and a princess under a terrible curse.” “It’s a decent story, but long.”

The quote says it all! A little long but I really enjoyed this mesmerizing story. Emily Woo Zeller gives an incredible performance as always!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SOBBING - but in a good way :)

Love this series, and I want to give special praise to the narrator for leaning into those emotional beats and making me cry on my way to work. A really satisfying conclusion to the story, and although I would love more time with these characters, I’m happy to see where they ended up :)

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing sequel to Six Crimson Cranes

I was completely transfixed by Six Crimson Cranes and I pre-ordered The Dragon's Promise expecting it to be just as good, but I was disappointed. The main character was much less interesting in this story than in the first, more 2-D, less self-empowered, and ultimately less compelling. A lot of the situations seemed contrived and several times, it felt like the author wrote herself into a corner and just needed deus ex machina to get her characters out of impossible situations and like she was trying to wrap up too many disparate storylines at once. Emily Woo Zeller slays, as always, in her narration.