• The Drowning Girls

  • A Totally Addictive Crime Thriller and Mystery Novel Packed with Nail-Biting Suspense (Detective Josie Quinn, Book 13)
  • By: Lisa Regan
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 11 hrs and 1 min
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (993 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the thin glow of moonlight, a mess of auburn curls gleams against the rocks. A girl’s pale hand reaches from a cleft in the boulders, waving weakly. But it’s too late. A wall of raging white water crashes down, swallowing her whole....

A knock on the door late in the evening can only mean trouble for Detective Josie Quinn, but fear chokes her at the news that one of her own team is missing. No one has seen Denton PD’s Press Liaison Amber for days and, as she follows the message scrawled on the frosted windscreen of Amber’s car to a nearby dam, Josie hears a piercing scream that tells her she’s too late. But the body they pull from the freezing water is not Amber....

Josie won’t sleep until she finds a name for the beautiful girl left to drown, and the meaning of the numbers scribbled in a tattered pink diary found on Amber’s desk. She must stay strong and focused for her close-knit team. But as rumors of an argument the night Amber disappeared surface, can she even trust her own colleagues?

Cracking the cryptic numbers reveals a twisted truth about Amber’s family - did anyone really know Amber at all? Finding her alive is Josie’s only chance of knowing the truth. But as a blizzard closes in, how many more precious lives will be snatched before she can?

Do you absolutely love crime thrillers that keep you up all night and leave you sleeping with the lights on? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine, will have you Totally Hooked!

©2021 Lisa Regan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Buckle up...never-ending twists and turns. You think you know what to expect...and then BAM she hits you with something so out of the blue that you can’t help but gasp.” (Katie Mettner Books, 5 stars)

What listeners say about The Drowning Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    631
  • 4 Stars
    246
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    641
  • 4 Stars
    203
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    579
  • 4 Stars
    209
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love the stories and characters

I love Josie and her friends and family. Great stories, but I’m writing this specifically to say that another performer like Brittany Pressley or Julia Whelan would bring a stronger performance.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but could be better

I hate when have cops off duty without their weapons. I have known many cops and always carry evev off duty because they are never really off duty. I even went water skiing with a cop friend and he only left his gun when he was in the water.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good however too many people in the story

This book was good but there were so many people in this story I kept getting confused. Other than that it was good.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

loved this author. cannot wait for her next book to come out for the Josie Quinn series.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Could not finish, boring and unbelievable

I wish I would not have wasted my time. I tried to force myself to finish it in hopes for it to get better - it did not. Everything is either boring or unbelievable - from stories to emotions to caracters to dialogues. Never this author ever again.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real page turner.

I loved it,sorry when it ended. I think I found my next favorite author

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dougherty

In chapter 24, I can’t take it seriously with the way they say “Dougherty” when talking about the officer. Other than that, another great story in the series.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good mystery

enjoyed, but a little draw. out at times, wanted it to go a little faster

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

!is a Regan didn't disappoint! This book was amazing as usual. All of.her.Josie books are great and leave you astonished and wanting more!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another brilliant addition to Josie Quinn!

This book was another amazing addition to the Josie Quinn series - incredible!

Josie and the team are back, solving another mind boggling mystery, that just gets more and more strange at every turn. Another one you can't put down as you get further in. All the twists and really strange things keep popping up as you go ... so good!

4 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaye22
  • Jaye22
  • 08-07-22

*Dark Secrets*

Oh Josie Quinn, this instalment sees her and her team looking for one of their own. This is their press liaison Amber. She is also involved with fellow officer they affectionally call Mett.

Mett is worried about Amber, she has not been seen in days, he approaches Josie to come to Amber’s home. On their arrival Josie is not best pleased as Mett had broken into the house without permission. Amber’s car is still in the driveway they notice there is a message written on the windscreen it’s visible due to the frosted glass. The message refers to a nearby dam and as Josie calls in the team on arrival they see a woman in the water. She has Amber’s red hair, it looks every bit like Amber. Of course Josie jumps in.

The team soon discovers this is just the tip of the iceberg, do they really know Amber? There are a lot of skeletons in her closet and Josie can definitely relate.

There is murder, revenge, cons going on and scores to settle, as usual there are thrills leading right up to the end and Josie is right in the thick of it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 02-06-22

Entertaining

Enjoyable series in the main. Although, whilst they talk about the financial constraints upon the police department (I hope they won’t but), if they actually got rid of the department there would probably be far fewer crimes happening in their town! Good though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sarah
  • sarah
  • 01-23-22

So true

The absolute best detective Quinn book so far. The narrator makes me completely turn the world off, no matter what is happening and the past week was horrendous for me. Yet I took the time out, went walking with my new puppy and just shut everything out. I loved the new direction the writer has taken, even I think the writer has been so kind in listening or reading reviews. Can’t wait to read what’s next in store for Josie and her team.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Van G's
  • The Van G's
  • 01-13-22

Best one !

Honestly, the best one yet! I feel so privileged to be on the Jose Journey.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JillyB
  • JillyB
  • 12-15-21

Back on track

The last couple of books have been a bit too superwoman Josie, but I thought this was a bit more realistic. Good story and usual excellent presentation. Thought there was a couple of loose ends, but will re listen the last couple of chapters. Overall I listened way too quickly and hope there’s another book soon!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-14-22

Highly recommended series

I have all Lisa's books. You get taken alongside Josie as if on the cases as well. Mass twists and turns and for once, a lead character that does not hesitate getting her hands dirty. All strong characters with unpredictable storylines that leaves a nice little book hangover. A definite keeper.