adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the thin glow of moonlight, a mess of auburn curls gleams against the rocks. A girl’s pale hand reaches from a cleft in the boulders, waving weakly. But it’s too late. A wall of raging white water crashes down, swallowing her whole....

A knock on the door late in the evening can only mean trouble for Detective Josie Quinn, but fear chokes her at the news that one of her own team is missing. No one has seen Denton PD’s Press Liaison Amber for days and, as she follows the message scrawled on the frosted windscreen of Amber’s car to a nearby dam, Josie hears a piercing scream that tells her she’s too late. But the body they pull from the freezing water is not Amber....

Josie won’t sleep until she finds a name for the beautiful girl left to drown, and the meaning of the numbers scribbled in a tattered pink diary found on Amber’s desk. She must stay strong and focused for her close-knit team. But as rumors of an argument the night Amber disappeared surface, can she even trust her own colleagues?

Cracking the cryptic numbers reveals a twisted truth about Amber’s family - did anyone really know Amber at all? Finding her alive is Josie’s only chance of knowing the truth. But as a blizzard closes in, how many more precious lives will be snatched before she can?

Do you absolutely love crime thrillers that keep you up all night and leave you sleeping with the lights on? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine, will have you Totally Hooked!

©2021 Lisa Regan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Buckle up...never-ending twists and turns. You think you know what to expect...and then BAM she hits you with something so out of the blue that you can’t help but gasp.” (Katie Mettner Books, 5 stars)

What listeners say about The Drowning Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    232
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

loved this author. cannot wait for her next book to come out for the Josie Quinn series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Another nail biter. The twist and turns just keep on coming. Can't wait for Josie and the gangs next crime fighting adventure.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love the stories and characters

I love Josie and her friends and family. Great stories, but I’m writing this specifically to say that another performer like Brittany Pressley or Julia Whelan would bring a stronger performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3

Good mystery, We are are slowly brought up to speed so don't expect a grim in-your-face kind of book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dougherty

In chapter 24, I can’t take it seriously with the way they say “Dougherty” when talking about the officer. Other than that, another great story in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lisa Regan does not disappoint

When I thought the Josie Quinn series couldn’t get any better, Lisa Regan proved again what an excellent writer she is! The story keeps you hanging on with suspense

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but could be better

I hate when have cops off duty without their weapons. I have known many cops and always carry evev off duty because they are never really off duty. I even went water skiing with a cop friend and he only left his gun when he was in the water.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good mystery

enjoyed, but a little draw. out at times, wanted it to go a little faster

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

!is a Regan didn't disappoint! This book was amazing as usual. All of.her.Josie books are great and leave you astonished and wanting more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great thriller

I very fond of the Jose Quinn’s series. The drowning girls was like welcoming old friends back with a touch of intrigue and twist plots. Lisa Reagan’s writes many emotional and moral levels which can make life a little messy. This book with no exception . Kate Hanford narrative delivered more drama.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sarah
  • sarah
  • 01-23-22

So true

The absolute best detective Quinn book so far. The narrator makes me completely turn the world off, no matter what is happening and the past week was horrendous for me. Yet I took the time out, went walking with my new puppy and just shut everything out. I loved the new direction the writer has taken, even I think the writer has been so kind in listening or reading reviews. Can’t wait to read what’s next in store for Josie and her team.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Van G's
  • The Van G's
  • 01-13-22

Best one !

Honestly, the best one yet! I feel so privileged to be on the Jose Journey.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JillyB
  • JillyB
  • 12-15-21

Back on track

The last couple of books have been a bit too superwoman Josie, but I thought this was a bit more realistic. Good story and usual excellent presentation. Thought there was a couple of loose ends, but will re listen the last couple of chapters. Overall I listened way too quickly and hope there’s another book soon!