• The Duplicate Bride

  • By: Ginny Baird
  • Narrated by: Tanya Eby
  • Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (2,123 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Debbie Macomber and Susan Mallery will fall in love with New York Times best-selling author Ginny Baird’s hilarious and unique take on weddings.

Hotel magnate Brent Albright is poised to marry a woman he’s not totally wild about purely for business reasons. His betrothed, busy wedding planner Jackie Webb, has an equally impersonal agenda. But when the wedding week arrives, Brent’s surprised to learn that his brassy bride-to-be has an addictively warm, soft, and funny side. She not only charms his family, his fiancée captures his heart in a way he never thought possible. Suddenly marriage sounds a whole lot better....

Hope Webb has spent her entire life getting her twin sister Jackie out of fixes, and now Jackie’s in the biggest fix of all. She can’t eke out enough time to attend her own pre-wedding parties in beautiful Blue Hill, Maine. What starts out as a favor to impersonate the bride-to-be for one event turns into an all-week affair...and saying “I do.” Hope has helplessly fallen for the groom, and he’s fallen for her, but when the ruse inevitably unravels, she’ll lose the marriage - and the man - she’s always wanted.

©2020 Ginny Baird (P)2020 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about The Duplicate Bride

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,207
  • 4 Stars
    482
  • 3 Stars
    270
  • 2 Stars
    108
  • 1 Stars
    56
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,215
  • 4 Stars
    403
  • 3 Stars
    216
  • 2 Stars
    71
  • 1 Stars
    65
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,074
  • 4 Stars
    418
  • 3 Stars
    265
  • 2 Stars
    125
  • 1 Stars
    75

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Another sad, wimpy, pushover romance

What happened to all the strong women out there who don't put up with being pushed around, played, or whine constantly about their situation instead of doing something about it. if this is something that drives you nuts about a book then RUN, don't walk, away from this one. you'll thank me for thos later.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator Choice Matters!

A cute (kinda corny in some parts) story. It could’ve been so much better without the narrator’s childlike voice. She enunciated every single word like a robot. It didn’t seem realistic because of that and the fact that every female character had pretty much the same voice and the male character’s voices were just a deeper version of it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Is this voice computerized?

Awful. Can’t even get into the first chapter. Get a new narration and maybe? Sorry. It’s bad.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could NOT put it down.

I Loved this book! The reader did a great job! The author did a wonderful job telling the story! no sex scenes just some passionate kissing! which is how I like my books! I would let my teen read this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Eh..so so

It’s like the author didn’t have time to finish the book-it felt hurried. All the chemistry that was building between the characters sort of stopped and you felt you didn’t really get a great conclusion

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I don’t know...

I don’t know what it was but I could t stand the long, drawn-out, plot of identity deception. I just couldn’t wrap my head around why hope kept it up. I ended up skimming a pdf of story for several chapters just to speed it up. Narrator was great as always. The story has potential but too much. I just couldn’t. I loved hope and Brent as a couple from the very beginning but I really hate this much deception that just goes on and on.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous plot

Silly characters and unbelievable plot.
It was a mindless book to listen to while doing yard work!
Narrator—just seemed off with her over emphasis on diction.
Not a fan of this book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Corny as hell

If you want a mindless listen this is it. I completed it but only because it was free and I didn’t want to buy a credit. That being said I was able to make it through the whole thing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cute Story

This was a cute story, it just touched the surface of romance. but it was cute

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Preposterous

You have to be able to suspend belief to get through a lot of these romance books, but the level of ridiculous in this one is just unforgivable. Zero on the "sexy" meter. Pass this one by unless you're looking for a G-rated snooze fest.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss M
  • Miss M
  • 08-14-21

Highly enjoyable frothy (but not twee) romance

Slightly mixed reviews left me wondering if this would be saccharine and so far-fetched I’d want to give up.
Not a bit of it.

Bedridden with chronic illness I whipped through this in a day. It kept me entertained during very tough symptoms and if one enters into the spirit of the somewhat implausible premise that is made clear in the synopsis, one is treated to a light, engaging, easy listen with with likeable characters and a sweet (but not saccharine) romance. Itching for the big reveal but knowing it won’t take place till nearly the end of the book just made me keep listening.

Thank you to Ginny Baird and audible for making this lovely listen available in the Audibleplus catalogue.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for angela
  • angela
  • 09-10-21

Voices sound computerised

Voices sound computerised and spoil the story
Story is ok… with an ending that is predictable

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Demi Lansdown
  • Demi Lansdown
  • 04-27-22

brilliant

Fantastic story, lighthearted and romantic. Narrator was soft and easy to listen to as I use audible to go to sleep

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-08-22

Typically American...

...in that they all have idyllic family life, all are beautiful, rich, slim, successful and saccharine sweet...even the MEN!! Totally ridiculous and far fetched story line...just passable if not taken seriously. Although my comments may have been less complimentary if I had paid for this silly book! Just about OK for a freebie.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lucy
  • Lucy
  • 12-04-21

A little farfetched but entertaining

This is the kind of book that you shouldn't take very serious. The plot is a bit silly and farfetched. Hope takes the place of her twin sister Jackie during Jackie's wedding week. Its bizarre, but yet entertaining.
I listened to the audiobook. I thought the narrator did good, but did not do many different voices which made it sometimes harder to know which character was talking.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-28-21

Boring

wouldn't recommend, i needed to skip through some chapters just to hear the end; it was not surprising ;) Boring!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hannah
  • Hannah
  • 08-20-21

A feel good story

I love a good feel good story! And this book didn’t disappoint. My only criticism is the lady doing the reading sounded robotic at times… it really annoyed me to begin with- but once I got into the story- I really enjoyed it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-22-22

Predictable & fluffy

continued to listen incase there was a twist. there wasn't. story is weak & predictable

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. M. J. Jones
  • Mrs. M. J. Jones
  • 07-18-22

Yuk

I forced myself to finish this. It would have made a decent short story in a magazine. Endless repetition of everything and plot that was so predictable. Boring.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MrsR
  • MrsR
  • 07-18-22

Lovely story

Lovely story. Shame about the narrator. She sounded almost robotic and I nearly gave up twice because of her

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trubs
  • Trubs
  • 09-13-22

it was a bad romace

was just to cringe worthy and when she even went through with the wedding still pretending to be her sister and all the ridiculous internalising, I just lost all the want to listen... set it to fast play and got through to the end. still not a fan.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-12-22

Enjoyable…

Enjoyed the story and it was engaging, however, it would have been better to have more edited out as it dragged on too long.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TheFizzy
  • TheFizzy
  • 02-05-22

Very sweet and emotional

Narration was strangely robotic. not flat lots of good voices variance etc. just the narrator has a weird electronic sound in her voice like an automated recorded message. bugged me a fair bit. story was good, irritating at times but really grabbed your heart towards the end.

.