adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.22

Buy for $34.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Rae Carson makes a triumphant return to the world of her award-winning Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy in this extraordinary stand-alone novel. Fans of Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, and Tomi Adeyemi won’t want to put this book down.

Red Sparkle Stone is a foundling orphan with an odd name, a veiled past, and a mark of magic in her hair. But finally - after years and years of running, of fighting - she is about to be adopted into the royal family by Empress Elisa herself. She’ll have a home, a family. Sixteen-year-old Red can hardly believe her luck. Then, in a stunning political masterstroke, the empress’ greatest rival blocks the adoption, and everything Red has worked for crumbles before her eyes.

But Red is not about to let herself or the empress become a target again. Determined to prove her worth and protect her chosen family, she joins the Royal Guard, the world’s most elite fighting force. It’s no coincidence that someone wanted her to fail as a princess, though. Someone whose shadowy agenda puts everything - and everyone - she loves at risk. As danger closes in, it will be up to Red to save the empire. If she can survive recruitment year - something no woman has ever done before.

New York Times best-selling author Rae Carson returns to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns in this action-packed fantasy-adventure starring an iconic heroine who fights for her family and her friends, and for a place where she will belong.

©2020 Rae Carson (P)2020 Greenwillow Books

What listeners say about The Empire of Dreams

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ugh.

I absolutely loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns series. And I want to love this so bad but I'm struggling to even like it. I don't like the narrator much. I'm usually not too picky, but this one is hard for me. I'm finding so many scenarios unbelievable and so annoyingly juvenile that I just can't with it. I know I am older reading this book than I was with the series, so maybe that is why I'm struggling with it. Or maybe it is a lot to do with the Narration. I don't want to believe Rae Carson's writing is really so much worse and annoying in this book.
I dont know if I can finish it to be honest. It makes me sad.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really liked this story!!

I listened to this audiobook following the Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy (which I loved) and was not disappointed. I was wary that the narration of this book would be unbearable based on other reviews, but that’s not so! It was a little slow and monotone, so I increased the listening speed to 1.1x and had no problems listening after that!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

The narration is a let down.

Lack luster narration. It sounds like a really bad stage play from the 1800's. I can't listen. Bring back Jennifer Ikeda

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • VG
  • 08-12-21

Boring

Love the series but this book was a letdown. The writing was very basic. I listen to primarily young adult so it’s not like I was expecting some English literature. Story wasn’t interesting. I was able to skip from chapter 14 to 28 and I hadn’t really missed anything.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I have been hoping for years that Red’s story would be told! And I loved it! There were times when the narration was challenging to listen to, but the story was amazing! Definitely worth a listen!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The narration is AWFUL

It’s monotonous. It’s this excited forceful tone but all at one level. Like someone reading stage directions at you the whole time. Impossible to listen to. PLEASE re-record! Because Rae Carson’s books are amazing.

(The Girl of Fire and Thorns books were gorgeously narrated by Jennifer Ikeda. This is such a disappointment.)