• The Enemies of My Country

  • The Shadow Strike Series, Book 1
  • By: Jason Kasper
  • Narrated by: Corey M. Snow
  • Length: 10 hrs and 55 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (1,655 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

David Rivers is an elite-level assassin. He’s an expert in the art of violence. Honing his skill first as a Ranger, then as a mercenary, and now as a CIA contractor conducting covert action around the world.

But in his secluded mountain home in Virginia, David Rivers lives a double life. There, Rivers is known as a caring husband to his new wife and the doting father to his young daughter. Soft targets to his enemies.

Half a world away, on a mission to assassinate a foreign operative, Rivers uncovers his worst fear. An imminent attack on US soil will occur in four days. The target is in his hometown. And his wife and daughter are mentioned by name.

©2020 Regiment Publishing (P)2021 Severn River Publishing

What listeners say about The Enemies of My Country

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    975
  • 4 Stars
    465
  • 3 Stars
    156
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    22
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    950
  • 4 Stars
    391
  • 3 Stars
    124
  • 2 Stars
    41
  • 1 Stars
    25
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    876
  • 4 Stars
    433
  • 3 Stars
    151
  • 2 Stars
    43
  • 1 Stars
    21

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I wanted to like it...

But I just couldn't. This was not a tight thriller in the vein of Brad Thor or Vince Flynn. I felt like the author was all over the place with his writing and character point of view. The over all story was just OK. It was painful to finish. Rather than finding myself wanting more, it felt like a chore to complete. While I want to chalk it up to debut novel jitters, I can't see myself picking up future books in the series for fear of feeling that same dread I was experiencing listening to this one.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

David Rivers continues to draw me in

This is another story from Jason Kasper that has drawn me in with its non-stop action. It is filled with suspense and plot twists that keep me engaged. Fight scenes and gun battles that get my heart racing. Jason’s writing skill continues to grow with the first person experience that has me feeling like I’m in the story. Excellent, can’t wait for the next one.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Shallow

The dialogue was cringe worthy. A Buffett of cliches. The action wasn’t bad but the interludes were torture

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Bring Adam Gold Back!

Not as good as the original DR Series, maybe the new narrator had some to do with it. He didn't come close to Adam Gold who I feel did a much better job portraying David and each individual in the gang. David isn't 30 yet so it didn't fit to have the voice sound so much older and without the inflective personality as prior series. Some of the main characters basic personalities seemed to be totally different and their new "bosses" were not believable. Something just seemed a miss with this story. Again, could be the narrator and personality differences but overall it was an ok listen.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

David Rivers Delivers…his new voice did not

For those of us that fell in love with David Rivers and the unique dramatic emotional rollercoaster that becomes the character and brought to life by the performance in the previous series will be disappointed with the new voice of this series.

That being said Kasper’s story is non-stop turns and clever plot lines. I am looking forward to the next book, but wish beyond wishes the narrator changes back to the previous performer or, my favorite, Ray Porter.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Painful

So difficult to get into with the poor performance. Narration was stiff and near robotic.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

too many points of views

Good story. It was told with too many perspectives for my liking. However, I would listen to a second installment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but...

loved the book but please go back to Adam Gold on the next book in the series! please

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the story

Love David Rivers and love the story... but you can't have David Rivers without Adam Gold... please bring him back for voice actor. other than that I give it 5 stars

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

tried twice

the narrator barely takes a breath between sentences, it is all jumbled up and extremely hard to follow. I tried the 1st chapter twice and just couldn't last. which is unusual for me, normally I will stick with a book even when I am not too interested as I listen while I commute back and forth to work.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Churchill1940
  • Churchill1940
  • 08-12-21

Great presentation though the story a little OTT.

A really good listen thrilling throughout and look forward to the next month book 2.
Listen and enjoy. Former Ranger.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark MaC
  • Mark MaC
  • 10-23-21

Absolutely brilliant!

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Absolutely brilliant. Although, I do think it should have been called “some people just need to get shot in the fucking face “! LOL! Brilliant!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adrian T.
  • Adrian T.
  • 09-16-21

Detailism

I personally found the constant detailing of weaponry profoundly irritating. If i wanted to buy a gun I'd go to a shop.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for "supersapper"
  • "supersapper"
  • 09-12-21

Great Action

I enjoyed this audio book from start to finish! The story is superb, with the action being very well described and not over the top! The narrator was fantastic!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul
  • Paul
  • 11-18-21

great story

great insight into the black art of doing with terrorist. edge if the seat story. great line about if you can't go forward go back

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jen
  • Jen
  • 11-09-21

My first listen of this author's tales

And I liked it, likeable characters and age-old plot framed from a different perspective - hope there's more to come from him.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for H. Claridge
  • H. Claridge
  • 10-18-21

The book is better than its dull title…..

….which needs to be much more dynamic and pertinent to the story. Characters were realistically drawn, the detail was thorough and the tension built very satisfactorily…but I did find it difficult to get past the rather strange staccato delivery of the narrator, which irritated throughout! I’d read something more by Jason Kasperbut will look to avoid this narrator.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam
  • Sam
  • 07-15-22

Good Story Awful Copy

sounded like it was recorded under water
good story with good characters and plot.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anas Quteishat
  • Anas Quteishat
  • 07-20-22

Nice story

the story is great and the narration is spectacular
thanks audioble for the suggestion

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pete Buckley
  • Pete Buckley
  • 06-04-22

A movie in the making

Nicely constructed story with numerous twists and turns.

Some aspects a little too predictable but certainly a plot taken to the last chapter before things come together.

Clearly the sequel will follow and notwithstanding the phenomenal survival instinct and indestructible nature of the team, should provide further audible enjoyment.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellinah C
  • Ellinah C
  • 06-16-22

Enemies of my country

Oh wow l have never seen a team fail as much as these guys, one disaster after another. Maybe l am used to movies that show success after success and then l big failure etc. But David as the main character is extremely flawed, maybe that’s the point there are no perfect soldiers. Still enjoyed their story thanks!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-11-22

Couldn't finish it

This book had potential but unfortunately a poor story and a voice I couldn't continue to listen to meant I didn't finish it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 10-08-21

Great listen

Really enjoyed this. A great author and read by one of the best narrators out there.