• The Extended Mind

  • The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain
  • By: Annie Murphy Paul
  • Narrated by: Annie Murphy Paul
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (123 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A New York Times Editors' Choice

A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021

A New York Times Notable Book

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains - in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships

Use your head.

That’s what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we’ve got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of “extra-neural” resources - the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us - can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively. 

The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors - from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro - have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner’s Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman’s Emotional IntelligenceThe Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

©2021 Annie Murphy Paul (P)2022 HarperAudio

What listeners say about The Extended Mind

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must Read for Artists, Designers, Strategists

Not exactly what I was expecting, much more compelling. Some theories I have heard before but woven together they become much more salient. Design can be a difficult topic to write or read about. As an interior designer/workplace strategist I found this book so grounding and inspiring.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everyone needs to read this

Every educator, researcher, parent, business person, government official, everyone needs this information. The Way our education system and most of the business world are locked in inefficient structures that limit potential and performance. This book provides new and tested ways to get out of our mind ruts.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

About time we recognize and use all human abilities. Well written and well presented. Thanks

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic book--a must read

Annie Paul provides the perfect blend of narrative with cited, relevant research to further her narrative. It is a fascinating look into the brain, the mind, and most importantly the space outside both.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Annie Murphy Paul

For narrating and writing this book and outstanding book to listen to. Please listen to this book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Basic concept is fine - book is not so great

We can probably all agree with the concepts presented in this book - getting outside and close to nature is good for our mental well being; gesturing helps with both our ability to express ourselves and for others to understand us; brainstorming/social discussion/social thinking helps bring other points of view for better idea refinement and solutions. Do we really need this book to tell us these things? Maybe. I don't feel I benefited much from this book, but others might.