1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Instant New York Times Best Seller

A Today Show Read with Jenna Book Club pick

A captivating debut novel about the tangled fates of two best friends and daughters of the Italian mafia, and a coming-of-age story of 20th-century Brooklyn itself.

Two daughters. Two families. One inescapable fate.

Sofia Colicchio is a free spirit, loud and untamed. Antonia Russo is thoughtful, ever observing the world around her. Best friends since birth, they live in the shadow of their fathers’ unspoken community: the Family. Sunday dinners gather them each week to feast, discuss business, and renew the intoxicating bond borne of blood and love. 

But the disappearance of Antonia’s father drives a whisper-thin wedge between the girls as they grow into women, wives, mothers, and leaders. Their hearts expand in tandem with Red Hook and Brooklyn around them, as they push against the boundaries of society’s expectations and fight to preserve their complex but life-sustaining friendship. One fateful night, their loyalty to each other and the Family will be tested. Only one of them can pull the trigger before it’s too late. 

©2021 Naomi Krupitsky (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

A TODAY Show Read With Jenna Book Club Pick

A Barnes & Noble Discover Pick

A Book of the Month Pick

One of Parade’s Best Fall Books of 2021

One of Cosmopolitan’s Best Historical Fiction of 2021

One of Good Morning America’s 15 Books to Curl Up with This November

One of PopSugar’s Best New Books of November 2021 

One of Bustle’s Best Books of November 2021 

One of Real Simple’s Best Books of 2021

One of Katie Couric Media’s Best Books About Female Friendship  

“Vivid, authentic and filled with the unexpected… Once you read this novel of blood and love, promises and betrayal, you may never look at family in quite the same way again.” —Washington Post

“Krupitsky’s immersive debut is an intoxicating hybrid of The Sopranos and the novels of Elena Ferrante…The writing is downright dazzling….” —San Francisco Chronicle

“Mario Puzo meets Elena Ferrante in Krupitsky’s dynamite debut novel...Fans of Adriana Trigiani and Lynda Cohen Loigman will inhale this tense, engrossing novel about family ties, women’s friendships, and the treacherous complications of loyalty.” —Booklist, starred review

What listeners say about The Family

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    416
  • 4 Stars
    265
  • 3 Stars
    131
  • 2 Stars
    29
  • 1 Stars
    15
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    515
  • 4 Stars
    175
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    13
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    369
  • 4 Stars
    223
  • 3 Stars
    118
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    19

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Another Hyped up Book Club Pick that didn’t deliver

****Possible Spoiler*****
I went into this book excited to read it based on the story being around early century mafia family in NY, and two girls like sisters growing up in the family. That part of the book did deliver. It indeed told the story of two girls in the “family” because of their fathers’ ties to the mob. What it was like growing up in the family, what they felt and experienced, and how that bonded them together. When one of their parents dies the author does a good job of helping express the anger of the widow and child left behind. How that death impacted their friendship, their future spouses. The author does tie it all together.
But there’s no meat to the story, for the most part the plot was as boring as bored housewives in the story.
Don’t even get me started on the ending! Talk about a book that just leaves all ends loose, good grief it was as if the author got tired of writing the book one day and just said ok I’m done.
I don’t understand why this was picked by Jenna, and how other books are overlooked in a sea of authors with amazing stories, characters, and plots. I don’t get it. And I also understand you can’t please everyone, and maybe I just didn’t like it. But the trend I see are these books are picked by certain book clubs and they blow up, and some of them mediocre at best like this book while other books are just completely overlooked!!
Didn’t care for it at all, very underwhelmed, and took a credit!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Family

The Family written by Naomi Krupitsky is a debut novel about 2 women raised in the mob world.
This book is deep, gripping, and kept me on the edge of my seat! The audible allowed me to envision every scene as it played out in this heart stopping novel. The first part of the book is a slow burn till it gradually builds to the exciting conclusion. I was so wrapped up in the characters. I greatly look forward to reading more of Naomi's work.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Snooze

I have no idea what the story was. The author wrote in so many metaphors that you got lost in what was actually happening. The ending was abrupt and unclear.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring

I was really looking forward to listening to this book, unfortunately I was very disappointed. The story just dragged on on, not a whole lot going on, pretty boring.. it could've had big potential considering it is based on mobsters.
Also, this is the second book I've listened to with Marin Ireland narrating, she is terrible, I will not be listening to anymore books she narrates, awful acting.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good set up, great ending but too much analysis

Good set up, great ending but too much exposition and analysis. Very well written and researched.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4.5

I gave this story a 4.5 instead of a 5 just because it started out a little slow and I wasn’t sure I’d finish it. But I’m so glad I did ! It’s a great story and it’s a timeline of two best friends from childhood to adulthood told from each part of view.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enthralling!

I loved it. it was hard to stop listening. I liked that it gave us the prospective of women in Moffat families.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Two Unhappy Friends

The book was to me about two women with an unhappy narrative whining repetitively through their minds.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Well ok then.

Worst ending this year to a book. Maybe worst ending ever. And I’m still mad I even got to the ending. If you want your author to tell you everything and show you nothing this is your book. I will say I think she illuminated the quiet desperation of some women who feel stuck. However, she could have done it with way fewer words and way less imagery. It just wasn’t very good.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too many metiphors

If I didn't have to read this for a book club, I would have abandoned it mid way through. The author, in my opinion, used way too many metaphors to explain basic actions or ideas. it took away from the book. also, it was slow and jumped around a lot.