1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Pre-order for $25.19

Pre-order for $25.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A compassionate and insightful novel about family, broken dreams, and holding on to everything in life that matters.

Five cousins must band together to decide the future of their shared inheritance—the family’s sprawling property in Stowe, Vermont—but with each at a different place in life, reaching a unanimous decision seems unlikely.

Penny struggles with depression and craves stability in an unstable world. Halsey is divorced, raising her child, and contending with an unexpected realization about herself. Irresponsible William can be counted on only to fall in love as capriciously as he falls out of it. And both Laurie and Chris are floundering after betrayals—hers professional, his personal. With little in common except childhood memories, the five face impossible choices. It’s going to take sacrifice, compromise, and a plan for moving forward they can all agree to. Until then, the fate of the Nolan family compound is as uncertain as their paths in life.

As five lives in flux converge and tensions run high, the cousins will have to rely on each other if they’re to have any hope of preserving the past. From the author of All Are Welcome comes a novel about a family legacy worth fighting for.

©2022 Elizabeth L. Parker. (P)2022 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“The drama is richly realized and believable in its messiness. The result is an excruciatingly realistic portrayal of the power of family to infuriate and hearten.”Publishers Weekly

“Siblings and cousins are locked together via a delightfully gossipy collision of motivations in this page-turning tale of a dysfunctional family! The Family Compound will vividly transport you to idyllic Vermont, yet is also perfect for fans of Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest.”—Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist 

“Funny and instantly absorbing. Parker skillfully weaves the fragile highs and lows of growing up and finding yourself at any age and explores the complex meaning of family when the next generation inherits the responsibility to keep it together.”—Amanda Pellegrino, author of Smile and Look Pretty 

What listeners say about The Family Compound

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.