adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Strangers can hurt you. Friends can kill you.

Keira North falls to her death at a party.

What initially seems like it could be an accident is soon revealed to be something far more sinister as Detectives Alex King and Chloe Lane are called in to investigate the secrets and lies that link a group of four friends.

The detectives soon find that all of Keira's three closest friends have secrets that someone would kill to keep.

As Alex and Chloe are fighting their own demons and struggling to stay on top of the case, Keira's killer is circling the group of friends, who one by one find that their lives are in danger....

The First One to Die is a heart-stopping and shocking detective thriller that will have you gripped until the very end.

Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and Val McDermid.

©2017 Victoria Jenkins (P)2017 Bookouture

What listeners say about The First One to Die

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic narration and exciting story

This is the second in a series following the dynamic duo of Alex and Chloe, I really enjoyed the first book The Girls in the Water and was eager to catch up with them again. I think one of the things that I love the most about this series is the fact that you have two strong women working as partners, it’s unique and I’m all about the girl power! I also enjoyed diving deeper into their personal lives and finding out more about what motivates them and seeing what Alex in particular is dealing with in her personal life was heartbreaking and really helped to explain some of her behavior.

The case they’re working is certainly intriguing, a group of friends seem to be harboring plenty of secrets and the further Alex and Chloe investigate, the more darkness they uncover. Though the list of suspects is on the smaller side I still couldn’t pin down a culprit, Jenkins definitely plotted this one well and kept me guessing and then second guessing over and over again. I found this to be set at a quicker pace than the previous book and I’m always down for a high speed, exciting story and this surely delivered.

Villa was an amazing narrator, her nuances for expressing various emotions or different characters was outstanding. I’m always enraptured by listening to someone with an accent and I swear Bookouture has the BEST narrators around, every single one of their audiobooks has a fantastic narrator as well as a fantastic story, so if you’re a fan of audiobooks I can highly recommend them!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating!

Nice twists at every turn. Well written and very well narrated! Looking forward to book 3!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

Finally!! Something great to listen too that’s comparable to Angela Marsons! So excited. Good story and great narration! On to book 3!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Kudos to Victoria Jenkins

Great listen, highly recommend this author, this series.

Listened to book 1 several months ago which led me to book 2. Book 2 has led me to book 3.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Much better than the first

Kept me guessing nearly all the way through! Already bought the next book in the series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book from Victoria Jenkins

Jenkins and Villa are an awesome pair. Jenkins draws you in and keeps you there on the edge of your seat. Villa is an amazing narrator that brings these great stories to life. On to their next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good!

Really enjoy all Victoria Jenkins books. I look forward to the next in the series!! Hurry!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for At
  • At
  • 11-09-17

Really very enjoyable!

This was really good. Quite long and a couple of plot holes, but overall I really enjoyed it!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Esther
  • Esther
  • 07-06-18

Brilliant

Well produced story, great listening cannot wait to start the next book in the series.
Highly commended.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for julie panther
  • julie panther
  • 08-27-20

First one to die

absolutely fantastic loved i couldn't put it down, from the first page I was hooked. it gives you everything it makes you want more and it it gives it to you just amazing 👍🏾😁💕👏🏽

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 01-29-19

doesn't quite deliver

This book has the elements of a good listen... but somehow turns out to be very average. Not sure if its the narrator or just an average story...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Warren
  • Warren
  • 08-20-18

Excellent read

Excellent read keeps you on the edge of your seat great narrator and good plot

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kevin
  • Kevin
  • 07-07-18

Two wrongs don't make a right

It's an interesting theme well executed in this second book. Loving the Journey with these two crime busting ladies. As usual I've come back to listen a second time to this book and it made me think about how we can set out on a path and just keep making things worse ....not that even one murder could ever ne made right and in this story was it ever fitting whether for mistaken reasons or otherwise