• The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library, Book 1

  • By: Django Wexler
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Morris
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (191 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $32.20

Buy for $32.20

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Ink heart, and The Books of Elsewhere.

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That - along with everything else - changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon - an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

©2014 Django Wexler (P)2015 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Vaguely reminiscent of Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland, and Inkheart all rolled into one, it’s good fun.... Working in the grand tradition of children’s fantasy, Wexler’s off to a promising start." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Wexler ingeniously creates an inventive world with interesting creatures and frightening situations." (School Library Journal)

"Fans of Harry Potter and Cornelia Funke's Inkheart (2003) will relish that the library houses magical books.... It's a joy to watch the dutiful Alice develop her innate curiosity and become a proactive, resourceful heroine, matching wits with snarky cats, dangerous beasts, and a certain smug boy. This is a charming, adventuresome fantasy from a promising new author." (Booklist)

What listeners say about The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library, Book 1

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Kids Loved It

They immediately asked why it had to end and were thrilled when I told them there is a second book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Prisoners in library books!

Interesting creatures and "library books". Wish there was someone to trust for the main character...maybe there is and she just doesn't know it yet. Sure there should be a sequel.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Her voice is grating to listen too. Story is a bit dark and depressing for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting thriller

loved the book and illustrations. can't wait for next one. definitely worth reading. great book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Confusing

it was ok but nothing very exciting happened. Some parts were good but most of it was crap.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Forbidden Library #1

good story. It took me awhile to get thru it listening at night.
The narrator fid a nice job. I will get the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun and creative

Easy readability level. I enjoyed this book, and I'm happy to see that a sequel has been written. The author's well-done imagery sparked imagination and visualization, and the unique characteristics of the library and its books held my interest. The young heroine has tenacity and problem-solving skills. She continues to work through issues as they arise and does not give up hope.

Cassandra Morris's youthful voice was a perfect choice for this genre, and she brought the various characters to life with personalities and shifts in tone/timbre. Well done.

In addition to looking for the sequel from Wexler (and hoping Morris is again the reader), I will be looking up additional books read by Morris. Thank you both for a fun and creative read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Too good to stop listening!

Excellent book! but I had to buy an extra 3 credits because my daughter is dying to hear the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really fun book

The story was well written, and brilliantly descriptive. I appreciate how the heroine is portrayed. Will continue the series.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Didn’t even get to the story…

The narrators voice was so annoying I didn’t even get to what the heck this was supposed to be about