• The Forging of Dawn

  • The Nightfall Wars, Book 0
  • By: Jacob Peppers
  • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
  • Length: 4 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (537 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
The Forging of Dawn  By  cover art

The Forging of Dawn

By: Jacob Peppers
Narrated by: Derek Perkins
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $3.49

Buy for $3.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

No armies march. No generals marshal their troops on some distant battlefield. Yet the people of Entarna are at war.

And they are losing.

The nightwalkers have returned, creatures that roam the darkness searching for anyone foolish or unfortunate enough to find themselves without light to protect them. And the people of Entarna carry lanterns and torches, wielding them as shields against the night's creatures.

But sooner or later all lights fade. All flames go out.

Torrik and his wife were once soldiers in the war against the Dark. But when their son Alesh was born, they left that life behind them in the hopes of keeping him safe. But Alesh is no normal child, and Torrik will be forced to learn a hard truth.

Mortals plan. Mortals hope. And the gods laugh.

Finding themselves in the center of a conspiracy threatening the entire realm, Torrik and his wife must try to become the people they once were, people they'd thought they'd left behind long ago.

For when all lights go out...darkness reigns.

The Forging of Dawn is the prequel book to The Nightfall Wars, a new series by Jacob Peppers, the author of the best-selling epic fantasy series, The Seven Virtues. The Nightfall Wars is a dark fantasy series in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie, Brent Weeks, and David Gemmell.

©2019 Jacob Peppers (P)2020 Podium Publishing

What listeners say about The Forging of Dawn

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    342
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    385
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    328
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

DO NOT before you read book one.

If you read it before the first book, it ruins some of best parts of the book. Takes away the mystery. Prequels shouldn't include a major spoiler to your main character. That being said, it was well done.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

pretty good

lots of potential and has a bit of terror in it. worth reading in the dark

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An enjoyable short story

I have not listened to the entire series this far, only the novella. I very much enjoyed it and hope to enjoy the series as much, should it be as well written. Being a light in the darkness is old symbolism, but I've never seen it taken this literally.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

When I Made the Call

The narrating is excellent, the plot - that'll depend on you, but the moment I knew the writing was mediocre (good but not five-stars) was when the author had written "an explosion occurred and they were buffeted by an invisible wind." All wind is invisible, he and the editor didn't catch he meant ephemeral. He does that often - uses words where other descriptors would be better suited.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow and plodding

Why say in a paragraph what can be painfully stretched into a chapter. Tough to finish.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Beginning to Possibly an Epic Adventure

The story was predictable at points, but was still exciting to read. It was an obvious beginning to possibly greater things. Lots of room to grow.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Prequel

Love Jacob Peppers’ work and Derek Perkins does an awesome job narrating. This prequel nicely sets up the backstory for what comes in The Son of Morning. I’m off to listen book two in the series now!

Keep up the great work Mr. Peppers!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great New Mythology

Perkins is great. Perfectly suited to read this type of story. It has all the makings of a great myth. Gods, great and small watching humankind traversing life shattering challenges. I wondered if the main character were voicing the authors thoughts and concerns for this world.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

ok, not a repeat listen

reminds me somewhat of black sun rising. story is a bit slow until it isn't and then it is over. rising action is non existent. interesting story premise, good world building. slow story pacing. good prose, the descriptions good and can easily make you feel the emotion of the moment then the moment ends and it is a slog again. no character growth, I'm assuming that this 'prequel' is just set up information but still could have been better executed.
narrator had no vocal range or accent mimicry. pacing was slow. enunciation and dictation clear and concise so they are easily understood. good Audio quality.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well Done!

The author uses a primal human fear to set the stage for what promises to be a compelling tale. The performance is excellent and adds to the overall experience.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SAQ
  • SAQ
  • 08-17-21

Enjoyed a lot

As it was free I thought I would give it a shot. I’m quite glad I did. A well written and performed novella that has left me wanting more. So will give the first novel in the series a go,hope it lives up to the promise of this introduction.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alan
  • Alan
  • 08-10-21

Night Crawlers

A fantastic introduction to the Nighfall Series, absolutley awesome, the more I listen or read Jacob Peppers books, I don't know what to expect, he can have you on the floor laughing with his humorous books and he can bring the Darkness just as well, this time he shows us his Darkside, a cracking story, A darkness where light can truly keep away the monsters, an ex Spy Toric, who receives information from an old priest, his friend, that the darkness is coming again, when he goes to investigate his friends claims, he finds him disappeared and an unruly person cleaning up a bloody mess in his home, his friends fears are confirmed, when he receives a visit from the local Bishop and six members of the church, with a wife and child to protect, he must protect them or will it be his son, the chosen one, we have two major players, Gods of light and the Devils of Darkness, The narration by Derek Perkins is brilliant, cool night stalkers, characters, plot and the worldbuilding is great, I shall be checking out the series very soon, highly recommended....😁

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marioncostadelsol
  • Marioncostadelsol
  • 08-12-21

Ticks all my boxes!

Intriguing story. Believable characters, excellent narration and dramatization... Can't wait for the next volume.. A most engaging audible experience...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louise
  • Louise
  • 11-29-22

Brilliant Prequil

Downloaded this when it was included with the membership as it caught my eye. As soon as I began listening I was absolutely hooked, and on finishing it in a couple of days immediately bought book one. Definately worth a listen as it sets the scene for a very important characters back story. Great performance, great read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kaatje
  • Kaatje
  • 10-06-22

enjoyed it

i really enjoyed this short story and thought the narrator was very good. I'd like to listen to more in the series

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 08-15-22

you'll want more

Loved it! They have us just where they want us. I'm rushing to listen to the rest of the story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dee
  • dee
  • 07-22-22

Ok, but not very exciting.

I listened to this as I liked the narrator’s voice. The story itself isn’t very good but I might listen to the next one if it was an included download.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr
  • Mr
  • 03-10-22

good for a free DL

a little predictable but I like the premise.
it feels similar to the Peter V Brett. The Painted Man, but not as good.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 03-01-22

A great novella to get into the series.

I really enjoyed the story which has great characters and plotline.
Excellent narration from Derek (the reason I gave the book a go!)
Definitely adding the rest of the series to my wishlist.
I listened as part of Audible Plus.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-09-22

❤️

Awesome I’ll be definitely be getting the rest. Bring it on great characters awesome story