• The Girl Before Me

  • By: Laura Wolfe
  • Narrated by: Lauryn Allman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (33 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

I’m so worried. You aren’t safe in that apartment! You have to get out. Before it’s too late....

When Rachel moves into a new apartment with her young daughter, Lily, it’s with a huge sense of relief. After escaping an abusive marriage, this perfect downtown fourth-floor rental, within minutes from the lake, feels like the new beginning the two of them deserve.

It’s a place to call home. A place for them to grow together. A place for them to heal. And, as Lily starts at a nearby elementary school and Rachel begins to develop feelings for her neighbor, Alex, who lives just down the hall, she dares to hope that their life is looking up.

But soon handwritten letters begin to arrive for someone called Annie. Alex says she was just the tenant who lived there before, who moved out one day without a word. Tentatively Rachel opens the first letter, intending to return it to the sender.

But the note says: "Annie. I’m so worried. You aren’t safe in that apartment! You have to get out. Before it’s too late."

Something happened to Annie. And Rachel is not nearly as safe as she thinks she is....

A totally gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena, and Gillian Flynn.

©2022 Laura Wolfe (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girl Before Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ehhhhh

Easy to follow along if you are busy & don’t want to pay a lot of attention, you can miss a lot & not miss much. Last 45 min of climax was cheesy. Definitely had a few twists. Kept my interest bc I finished it. I think the verbiage at the end was just super cliche. I actually enjoyed the rest of the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books I have read recently

Good characters and plot. Excel
Long narrator. Kept you wandering and thinking. Trying to be one step ahead of the many possible suspects.

1 person found this helpful