adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An unusual love. Two broken hearts. What difference does 10 years make? 

Annika Rose has always been different. Sensory overload is a constant problem for her. She has a hard time reading people and feels lost in social situations. She's a brilliant chess player but can't pull an outfit together to save her life. In her last year of college, she's the weird girl whose only real friend is her roommate, Janice.    

Then, one day, Jonathan joins the chess club and is immediately captivated by the mysterious girl whose attention is completely fixed on her game. Despite challenges, the two fall in love. Jonathan is patient and understanding of Annika's quirks and seems to like her just the way she is. Annika, in turn, finds the world less confusing and ominous when she's with Jonathan. As graduation looms, they begin making plans for the future. But a traumatic event will force them apart, shattering their connection and leaving them to navigate their lives alone. 

A decade later, a highly functioning Annika and a jaded Jonathan meet by accident and feel the tug of old feelings and the passionate attraction they once shared. Will they be able to pick up where they left off, or will time and old betrayals keep them from each other?  

The Girl He Used to Know is an uplifting novel about taking second chances, celebrating our differences and facing our fears. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Gail Honeyman, Jill Santopolo and Sliding Doors.

©2019 Tracey Garvis Graves (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

What listeners say about The Girl He Used to Know

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GH
  • GH
  • 05-05-19

Lovely story.

Another gem from Tracey Garvis Graves. It’s cute, a love story, and the autism aspect is written with intelligence, sensitivity and humour. The narrator is great too. I’ve already lined up another of Tracey’s books in my Audible library! Can’t wait!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AwesomeGiraffe
  • AwesomeGiraffe
  • 10-19-21

GOOD STORY, INTERESTING SUBJECT FOR LEAD CHARACTER

I was surprised how World events were incorporated, and I must admit that had me on the edge of my seat, at first, but then I wasn't sure how I felt about it in the middle of a fictional story.
In the first part of the book I thought there was too much descriptive sex, I'm not a prude but it just seemed unnecessary. Also, Onica's name seemed to be an issue; while in the story she constantly told people that it was "like Monica without the M" the narrator at the start of each chapter said "Anica"!
Overall, the story was good, and I enjoyed it, and the subject of Autism was treated thoughtfully and with insight, or perhaps just good research.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-16-19

Do yourself a favour.

There's only a few of these wonderful stories out there. One of those sweet, romantic tales with layer after layer of character envy. One of those "but wait, there's more" stories and there's also the narrators to thank.