• The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

  • By: Axie Oh
  • Narrated by: Rosa Escoda
  • Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (20 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea  By  cover art

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

By: Axie Oh
Narrated by: Rosa Escoda
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Deadly storms. An ancient curse. Will her sacrifice save them all?

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina's homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the 'true bride' will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong - Mina's brother's beloved - to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina's brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong's stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all.

But she doesn't have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking....

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki's Spirited Away.

©2022 Axie Oh (P)2022 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic Reviews

"Clever, creative and exquisitely written." (Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times best-selling author of Caraval)

"A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling." (Elizabeth Lim, New York Times best-selling author of Six Crimson Cranes)

What listeners say about The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully Written

The tale has friendship, romance, family, loyalty and an absolutely breathtaking and atmospheric, sensory world building. If you like Spirited Away, you’ll love this. The narrator has a nice voice and is a competent reader, but lacks the ability to change her voice to depict each character. However, I still enjoyed listening to it and will listen again.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KayleighBVBFallenAngel
  • KayleighBVBFallenAngel
  • 09-23-22

Potentially one of the best books I’ve read

Five stars are not enough for this magnificent gem of a book! I’ve loved every second of reading it even if it wasn’t something I’d usually read. The characters are fantastic, the writing is stunning and the whole thing is just so detailed without being overwhelming. I loved it, I am speechless! 10/10 would recommend 💕

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-17-22

amazing!

I loved everything about this book, the characters, the story, the world building. All so good. I hope the author has more to come!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sista
  • Sista
  • 11-04-22

.

THE COVER IS BEAUTIFUL.
DNF @chapter 19.
I do not know what the hype is about. Life is too short to continue a book you are not interested in.
I am glad many others like it, but it is "just" not for me.
Also, the audible narration was not the best. So monotone.

Will see Axie Oh in other books ❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Immie
  • Immie
  • 08-18-22

Loved it

Beautifully written with the innocence you'd expect from a childhood fairytale and suitable for all ages from 5-100 :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for reme02
  • reme02
  • 07-23-22

great book

loved the story, never goes wrong with some mythology. the performance was pretty good as well making the whole thing a good experience!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Natty V
  • Natty V
  • 06-27-22

Hard to listen and stay interested

The narrator doesn’t have the nicest voice and the story isn’t very interesting so hard to enjoy listening to the rest of the chapters but will persevere as it’s for my book club

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Veronica Byfuglien
  • Veronica Byfuglien
  • 06-10-22

Didn’t like audiobook voice

Couldn’t bear to listen at that voice, think i tried 1 chapter. Learned to sample audiobooks now, i will do that in the future.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for WY
  • WY
  • 06-07-22

lovely story

I enjoyed it, glad is a one novel, I personally didnt expected the ending haha. the narrator was alright took me to understand who is who, her words is easy to understand

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for De Melo
  • De Melo
  • 03-31-22

Vibrant Mythology retelling

Axie Oh's writing in this book is splendid though a bit simple; it's beautiful and captures the world and characters it creates on a surface level.

It's a book about choosing your own fate, about adventure and love. Not romance, but pure, deep rooted, love - whether it's friendship, family or a partner. I think this book tried to be an allegorical story rather than plot or character driven, instead highlighting the lessons you should learn...

There's a few usual clichés and expected tropes which appear in YA novels, so if that's your cup of tea, you'll enjoy.

This book isn't ground-breaking but it's a nice, sweet, quick read. Probably wouldn't read it again, but I'm glad I read it.

Wouldn't not recommend it, give it ago and make your own mind up. At least the narrator does a lovely job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-29-22

amazing book

I absolutely adored this book and the way the story is told, every chance I had to put audible on I did...the way the characters and story develop makes you want to keep turning the pages.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-05-22

Lovely story

The narrator didn't really do voices for the other characters which was a bit confusing at times, but it didn't detract from the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-28-22

Great Story

I loved this story. Beautifully written and narrated. Interesting plot line and a subtle but lovely character development

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dayna Spence
  • Dayna Spence
  • 03-30-22

So confusing

This book was so confusing to me! Not a lot of character development, and it felt like I never got the chance to actually know the characters beyond a surface level. Beautiful cover though, and the actual plot is very promising, however just didn’t do it for me!