adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Deadly storms. An ancient curse. Will her sacrifice save them all?

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina's homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the 'true bride' will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong - Mina's brother's beloved - to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina's brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong's stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all.

But she doesn't have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking....

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki's Spirited Away.

©2022 Axie Oh (P)2022 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic Reviews

"Clever, creative and exquisitely written." (Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times best-selling author of Caraval)

"A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling." (Elizabeth Lim, New York Times best-selling author of Six Crimson Cranes)

What listeners say about The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for De Melo
  • De Melo
  • 03-31-22

Vibrant Mythology retelling

Axie Oh's writing in this book is splendid though a bit simple; it's beautiful and captures the world and characters it creates on a surface level.

It's a book about choosing your own fate, about adventure and love. Not romance, but pure, deep rooted, love - whether it's friendship, family or a partner. I think this book tried to be an allegorical story rather than plot or character driven, instead highlighting the lessons you should learn...

There's a few usual clichés and expected tropes which appear in YA novels, so if that's your cup of tea, you'll enjoy.

This book isn't ground-breaking but it's a nice, sweet, quick read. Probably wouldn't read it again, but I'm glad I read it.

Wouldn't not recommend it, give it ago and make your own mind up. At least the narrator does a lovely job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-29-22

amazing book

I absolutely adored this book and the way the story is told, every chance I had to put audible on I did...the way the characters and story develop makes you want to keep turning the pages.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dayna Spence
  • Dayna Spence
  • 03-30-22

So confusing

This book was so confusing to me! Not a lot of character development, and it felt like I never got the chance to actually know the characters beyond a surface level. Beautiful cover though, and the actual plot is very promising, however just didn’t do it for me!