1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.08

Buy for $25.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A USA Today best seller!

A world at war. 

One woman will risk everything. 

Another will uncover her story. 

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep—a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Kathleen McGurl. 

©2021 Lorna Cook (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII." (Adrienne Chin, author of The English Wife)

"With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended." (Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan)

"A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey’s past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way." (Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea)

What listeners say about The Girl from the Island

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.