• The Girl in the Ground

  • A Completely Gripping Mystery and Suspense Thriller (Nikki Hunt, Book 4)
  • By: Stacy Green
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 8 hrs and 14 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (395 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She was beautiful: shiny blond hair, crystal blue eyes and the widest smile Nikki had ever seen. She thought back to what she had seen in the ground, the dirt that caked the white bones. All that remained of her now was the silver locket that was still around her neck....

When construction workers unearth a girl’s skeleton in Stillwater, Minnesota, Special Agent Nikki Hunt is called to the scene by her boyfriend Rory. Nikki knows instantly that the girl was murdered, but she is shocked when Rory immediately recognizes her. The victim was his childhood sweetheart, Becky, and he was the last person to see her before she went missing 24 years ago.

With the love of her life now a potential suspect, Nikki is forced to take a step back from the case. But then her colleague Liam finds lies in Rory’s statement - it appears that Becky may have been carrying Rory’s child when she was killed. Despite this, Nikki still thinks he could be innocent, and knows she must find the real killer herself if Rory stands any chance of walking free.

When Nikki finds a potential link to two pregnant girls who were found murdered years before it’s clear that this is the most twisted killer that she has ever faced. And then another girl goes missing from Stillwater. Can Nikki unearth the truth and protect the man she loves? And will she find the missing girl in time to save her life?

A dark and twisty crime thriller that will make you hold your breath as you race towards the end. The Girl in the Ground is a new mystery for fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni, and Willow Rose.

©2021 Stacy Green (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girl in the Ground

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    296
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    288
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    262
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

loved it, and absolutely love Kate handford as the narrator. so looking forward to the next book in this series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SURPRISE ENDING!

Wow…I did not see that ending coming! NOT AT ALL! The author did a great job of not only entertaining and engaging me all the way from the first page of the book to the last, but I truly had no idea who was guilty until almost the very end of the book. Kudos to author Stacy Green!

Unfortunately this was the sixth and final book in the Nikki Hunt series. I suppose I will have go look at some of Ms. Green’s other series and make some new fictional friends.

Thank you Ms. Green for several wonderfully entertaining hours! PLEASE HURRY WITH THE NEXT IN THE NIKKI HUNT SERIES!!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The past comes a-calling

The discovery of a decades buried body hits close to home for Nikki Hunt and she has to recuse herself. Will her new relationship survive the investigation? Then there is her case of possible sex trafficking…will Nikki find a missing woman before it’s too late? Good story and ending.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Slow and not a great ending

This book took so many turns and got off track. It was hard to pay attention and follow. I lost a credit for this book. Not worth it. I did like that it didn’t have foul language like most suspenseful novels.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Held my interest

Excellent storyline, the narration was good although a bit dull at times and very little to help sort out the characters . Worth a credit to me!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Girl in the Ground

I enjoyed book 4. Looking forward to the next book in the series. What is next for Hunt?.!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kristy Von Demleux
  • Kristy Von Demleux
  • 02-05-22

Struggled to maintain interest

The idea for this book could have been interesting but there were so many characters and not much depth to any of them. There was also just so many different things going on. I really couldn’t build the interest to properly follow what was happening and got bored.