• The Girl in the Striped Dress

  • A completely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 novel, based on a true story
  • By: Ellie Midwood
  • Narrated by: Alison Campbell
  • Length: 12 hrs and 7 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (106 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Girl in the Striped Dress  By  cover art

The Girl in the Striped Dress

By: Ellie Midwood
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Auschwitz, 1942: This unforgettable novel, based on a true story, brings to life history’s most powerful tale of forbidden love. Set within the barbed wire of Auschwitz, a man and a woman fall in love against unimaginable odds. What happens next will restore your faith in humanity and make you believe in hope even where hope should not exist.

“I won’t let anything happen to you,” he whispered, pressing a note into her hand. Her entire body trembled when she read it: I am in love with you.

Helena steps off the cattleztrain onto the frozen grounds of Auschwitz. She has 24 hours to live. Scheduled to be killed tomorrow, she is not even tattooed with a prison number. As the snow falls around her, she shivers, knowing that she has been sentenced to death for a crime she didn’t commit.

When a gray-clad officer marches toward Helena and pulls her away, she fears the worst. Instead, he tells her that it’s one of the guard’s birthdays and orders her to serenade him.

Inside the SS barracks the air is warm, thick with cigarette smoke and boisterous conversation. After she sings to the guard, Franz, he presses a piece of cake into her hands - the first thing she has eaten in days. On the spot, he orders her life to be saved, forever changing the course of her fate.

What follows is a love story that was forbidden, that should have been impossible, and yet saved both of their lives - and hundreds of others - in more ways than one.

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Choice, and The Orphan Train will be utterly entranced. This completely heartbreaking yet beautifully hopeful novel shows that love can survive anything and grow anywhere.

This book was previously published as Auschwitz Syndrome.

©2021 Ellie Midwood (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girl in the Striped Dress

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well done!

So well written, so well told, bravo over and over again. My oh my, the research that must have gone into this novel. Again, BRAVO! Ten ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

get the tissues

I absolutely loved it. I've about read everything Ellie has written! All are excellent!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love, Evil, Survival, Death & Redemption

A moving novel, based on real events which took place in Auschwitz. Beautifully told and in spite of the tragic topic an inspiring read.Love, Evil, Survival, Death & Redemption.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • pt
  • 09-18-22

Story and narrator are superb

IMidwood is told this story beautifully, with depth of feeling. The narrator, Alison Campbell, was astonishing. Each voice was distinguishable and suited to the character. What I really appreciated was her ability to portray the male characters without making them sound out of place or silly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

This book kept me wondering g what would happen next. Would listen again too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truth and Beauty

Thank you for sharing this story which helps one to understand the complex horrible experience of both the Jewish and the German experience.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible

A beautifully written piece of historical fiction with extraordinarily complex and damaged characters living through a horrible moment of human history.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing they survived

amazing people had to survive through this horrible thing. it was nice to hear that someone had some compassion and helped people.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spellbinding from start to finish!

The Girl in the Striped Dress held my interest from the Prologue and Chapter One until Chapter 23 and the Author’s Notes. Generally, most books have a few places where my interest wanes, but each time I returned to my listening, I had no trouble remembering exactly where the narrator at the time was in his/her part of the story. Excellent read with plenty of action and emotional ups and downs.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I felt visceral disturbing disgust

A nazi sadist falls in love with a prisoner on her first day there because she sings Happy Birthday to him. Then he saves her from being gassed. A few weeks later she falls back im love with him. She ends up marrying him. I felt insulted. The narrator was decent but saccharine. Maybe this turns around to make sense but I felt defiled and needed to return it after chapter 5.

It's purportedly based on a true story. I can understand why the author changed their names. I wonder how much is true. How could they have any real life together? Did he constantly remind her that he saved her from the gas chambers? Did his nazism emerge throughout the marriage? How did her inevitable survivors' guilt poison the marriage?

What would they have told their children? Did they remain married?
After searching for more information regarding this story, I found out that she DID NOT marry the officer. She refused contact with him after the war, moved to Israel, and married a Jewish man

She did, however, testify in his defense at his trial. That is much more believable. If you are interested I read this on the Amazon book site under the three stars list of reviews for the book.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aley Rochester
  • Aley Rochester
  • 09-05-21

The girl in the stripped dress

fascinating story about what human strenghth can endure., make you also think about what you want to do in your life.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina
  • Christina
  • 11-14-22

Mostly true story

This story is mostly true. The author based the book on real events from memoirs of others and then filled in the blanks. I did find it a bit jumpy and difficult to keep up with as it would go between the different characters but then not really join up at the end. Compared to other stories of the same nature I didn’t find it as interesting but it is great to hear some real life accounts of the surv