1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping, compelling psychological thriller about a cult, a fire, and the dark secrets that four young girls have carried with them but can no longer keep buried....

Blue grew up in the Black House.

In remotest Wales, Joseph Carillo recruited young, lonely women to join his community and adopt his erratic views. Blue's mother was one of them. But when the Black House goes up in flames, Blue escapes to freedom and never stops running.

Twenty years later, when Blue's old dormmate commits suicide, Blue receives a strange call. She has been awarded sole custody of Natasha's daughter. But things don't add up. The girls haven't spoken since the night of the fire.

As Blue begins to dig into Natasha's life, her suspicions take her all the way back to that fateful night.... But will the truth help Blue to face her past, or will it put everyone she holds close in danger?

The addictive, dark and redemptive psychological thriller you've been waiting for in 2021 - for fans of Lisa Jewell, Louise Jensen, Phoebe Morgan, CL Taylor, Cara Hunter and KL Slater.

©2021 NJ Mackay (P)2021 Orion Publishing Group

Critic Reviews

"Dark, gripping, unexpected. Insanely good - like, Dark Places good." (Elle Croft)

"Brilliantly plotted, tense and atmospheric." (Rachael Blok)

"Grips you from the first line through to the nail-biting conclusion. Psychological suspense at its best." (Victoria Selman)

"Clever, unexpected, brilliantly plotted; I literally could not put it down." (Clare Empson)

What listeners say about The Girls Inside

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vickie
  • Vickie
  • 04-08-21

One of the best

One of the best audio books I've read. Brilliant enjoyable. Great narrator. Kept me gripped

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine
  • Christine
  • 01-04-22

Great listen

Really enjoyed this one, love all her book. Took me on a journey with Blue and loved it, right up until the final word……

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nanny Gaga
  • Nanny Gaga
  • 07-21-21

Great story

I loved the the story. I couldn’t stop listening to it. I didn’t like the persons voice who read it but the whole story was page turning. I didn’t want it to finish. I love Niki Mackay’s books. I’ve read and listened to them all. She’s a brilliant writer with a great imagination.