• The Girls I've Been

  • By: Tess Sharpe
  • Narrated by: Tess Sharpe
  • Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Girls I've Been  By  cover art

The Girls I've Been

By: Tess Sharpe
Narrated by: Tess Sharpe
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Soon to be a Netflix film starring Stranger Things' Millie Bobby Brown - this must-listen psychological thriller, perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying, will leave you guessing until the very end. Don't miss the bonus interview with Tess Sharpe, exclusive to the audiobook! 

As an ex con artist, Nora has always got herself out of tricky situations. But the ultimate test lies in wait when she's taken hostage in a bank heist. And this time, Nora doesn't have an escape plan....

Meet Nora. Also known as Rebecca, Samantha, Haley, Katie and Ashley - the girls she's been.

Nora didn't choose a life of deception - she was born into it. As the daughter of a con artist who targeted criminal men, Nora always had to play a part. But when her mother fell for one of the men instead of conning him, Nora pulled the ultimate con herself: escape.

For five years Nora's been playing at normal - but things are far from it when she finds herself held at gunpoint in the middle of a bank heist, along with Wes (her ex-boyfriend) and Iris (her secret new girlfriend and mutual friend of Wes...awkward). Now it will take all of Nora's con artistry skills to get them out alive. 

Because the gunmen have no idea who she really is - that girl has been in hiding for far too long....

©2021 Tess Sharpe (P)2021 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about The Girls I've Been

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting, fun and aware.

A clever YA thriller where past merges into present in a natural cause and consequence but still with twists and surprises.
Excellent character creation, each of the main group are quirky, emotional and flawed enough for us to care.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ella
  • Ella
  • 03-07-21

Brilliant page turner!

I loved this book so much! It is so clever and well thought through. I loved the characters and how they differ from each other. The themes of the book are well established and portrayed. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ELIZABETH DOHERTY
  • ELIZABETH DOHERTY
  • 02-10-21

was hooked from the start

I really enjoyed this book.looking forward to more from this author.Hooked from the start to finish

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-27-22

okay, but not great

I found the narration a little hard to follow at times. it wasn't always clear when a character talking or if it was just their thoughts.

I also found the repetition of the plans and 'here's what I'm working with' to be quite tedious and irritating.

The bank story line was really interesting, but I found I didn't care about the girls before. the idea that a 12 year old girl could con 2 adult con artists was too unbelievable and brought me out of the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martina Pennetta
  • Martina Pennetta
  • 05-22-22

Genius and gripping

I absolutely loved The Girls I’ve Been. Both the story and the audio version were absolutely on point, poignant and totally gripping.
It lost a bit on edge-sitting atmosphere towards the end but the conclusion was very good nonetheless and the story touched so many important and timely issues. Definitely recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-06-22

Best book I’ve ever read

This book os incredible Tess sSharpe is an amazing author and needs to make more books. The book is narrated by her which makes it even better as she knows how to characters are supposed to sound. YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diana
  • Diana
  • 12-22-21

Great story - 4.5 stars

Great story! Bought the book for the morally grey bi character, stayed for the story.

I didn't not realise this was YA book when I bought it. Part of me felt that the story would work better if the main characters were older (I assumed they were until I realised their teens).

The book covers a range of important topics in an engaging and thrilling story. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the author's narration. Looking forward to the future books from the author.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-01-21

Couldn’t put it down

Loved this book. Managed to listen to it in two days. Very original and captivating. Can’t wait for the movie and would love a sequel.