• The Girls in the Snow

  • Nikki Hunt, Book 1
  • By: Stacy Green
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (2,211 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Girls in the Snow  By  cover art

The Girls in the Snow

By: Stacy Green
Narrated by: Kate Handford
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Madison walked through the fallen snow, looking left and right. It had been Kaylee’s idea to use the trail through the forest; she said no one would follow them. But Madison lost sight of Kaylee for a moment and when she found her again she wasn’t alone....

In the remote forests of Stillwater, Minnesota, you can scream for days and no one will hear you. So when the bodies of two 15-year-old girls are discovered frozen in the snow, Special Agent Nikki Hunt is sure the killer is local: Someone knew where to hide the girls and thought they would never be found. 

Though Nikki hasn’t been home in 20 years, she knows she must take over the case. The Sheriff’s department in Stillwater has already made a mistake by connecting the girls’ murders to those of a famous serial killer, refusing to consider the idea that the killer could be someone from town. 

Then another girl’s body is found, a red silk ribbon tied in her hair, and Nikki realizes that the killer has a connection to her own dark past, and the reason she left Stillwater. 

Nikki is not the only person in town who wants those secrets to stay hidden. Will she be able to face her demons before another child is taken? 

Gripping and spine-chilling, The Girls in the Snow will make you gasp until the final heart-pounding twist. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner, and Robert Dugoni. 

What listeners are saying about The Girls in the Snow

“This is the thriller that I didn’t know I was waiting for and needed in my life until I picked it up. So good. I’m still reeling and trying to catch my breath from this highly suspenseful and emotionally charged story.... I need more ASAP.” (Reading in Autumn, 5 stars)

©2020 Stacy Green (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girls in the Snow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,315
  • 4 Stars
    607
  • 3 Stars
    210
  • 2 Stars
    54
  • 1 Stars
    25
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,238
  • 4 Stars
    527
  • 3 Stars
    175
  • 2 Stars
    51
  • 1 Stars
    27
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,188
  • 4 Stars
    540
  • 3 Stars
    212
  • 2 Stars
    52
  • 1 Stars
    23

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Everything was just...bad

There were random 3 to 5 second pauses, either bad editing or narration, it made listening to this book near impossible, I finished out of sheer hate.

The story was meh, the narration pauses aside, the story was at times generic, and mostly just...weird? This book feels like it was written by AI. The sex scene is the best example of the weird AI tone. It makes no sense in the story, comes out of left field, and is written as though the author has a technical understanding of words, but no real world experience using words, ever. The whole story feels like trying to explain baseball to someone who has never seen it played.

99 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good premise, narration hard to follow

While I thought the plot was fine the narrator made countless mistakes. Mispronounced place names,pronoun changes for characters,using the wrong names for key characters. It was a bit of a mess and took me out of the story.

63 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Too long

Normally I'd like for a book to be long. More bang for my buck. But only if all those words are necessary. IMHO, this book didn't get good until the final few chapters. Then the twists and suspense started happening. But I had to go through 10+ hours of many unnecessary words to get to those twists and suspenseful moments.

The narrator is good. However, her speech and pronunciations could stand some editorial review. She pronounces several words repetitively as if she's not from the US, and she's not. She's from rural Canada. The author is from Iowa and the book is based in Minnesota. The narrator's pronunciations should (again, IMHO) match where the book is based. This isn't a deal killer, but it's distracting.

55 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, narrator would forget voices

Enjoyed the story and I liked the narrator's voice, however she often mixed up the voices of her character's making it difficult to follow along when there was a dialogue.

45 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Girls in the Snow

This is a new to me author and I was unsure what to expect. I bought the audiobook with this book and enjoyed the story. There were some parts that weren’t my favorite, and though we were told how cold the main character is, many times that isn’t what was shown. But I enjoyed it and have already bought the second audiobook. The killers in all the cases was not a surprise to me but I still enjoyed the resolutions. The narrator did a good job with a lot of characters.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

very good read

Loved it
It has so many elements of a good story as well as a surprise ending
I highly recommend this book.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well worth the credit!

I am glad this is Book 1 of a series because this listen left me wanting more. Great characters and enough twists and turns to avoid being predictable.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging story, great narrator

This is definitely worth the listen - it kept my attention throughout and the narrator was excellent.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GOOD STORY!

I enjoyed this story. Kate Handford did an ok job of narration but without a good voice recognition, it was a little hard at times to keep up with all the different characters. I'm disappointed that the second book in the series is short. I like a minimum of 10 hrs for my credit. I've made a note and may pick it up eventually. This is a first Stacy Green for me and although I enjoyed this book, I've noticed that all of her other series either start with short story (IMO) or follows up with the second book being less time. Either way, I want more for my credit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It’s okay

Reading through the reviews, a lot of people have complained about the narration. Admittedly, I’m not the biggest fan of the narration either, but I didnt think the actor did so bad that I had to quit the book. I feel like she did best with what the writing was; that said, I dont think she was the best narrator for this character or story.

As for the writing…the storyline is good, IMO. I liked the idea, and there are some good scenes. The play up of mystery is done quite well, and were it not for the choice writing style, it might have been categorized as a great book for me. What mostly bothers me is how unrealistic the story is. This character is in the FBI, and she’s a bad ass agent who is focused on a particular case, yet she has the time and permission to work on a homicide case with the local police? I made it over to book 2 out of curiosity, and the woman is still working with the local police. Why not have her be a bad ass cop vs FBI agent if she’s going to unrealistically work local police cases?

I have a friend in the FBI, and it’s just super unrealistic. I understand it’s a fictional book, but there has to be some form of truth within it. At least a notion that she’s on PTO, or forced leave due to trauma, or something. It makes me think the only reason the character is an agent is to amplify her credentials and skill, and nothing more. That’s my main rant.

I’ll continue buying the books cause I do like the plots, and appreciate the author’s skill in the creation of those.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • 06-14-21

good start

if you like Lisa Regan Josie Quinn then you will like this. they are very similar characteristics and I think the same narrator. well written and performed a good start to a new detective series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mandy Dockery
  • Mandy Dockery
  • 05-07-22

So boring!

I don't like leaving bad reviews but this book is only salvaged by the narrator.
It's slow, boring and without any 'twists and turns'.
If you value your time, do not waste it on this book as you will never get those hours back... Sorry to be so negative, but as the saying goes "I've had more fun watching paint dry! '

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-18-22

Great read

Admittedly, I did predict the bad guy early on in the book but I changed it a few times so the ending was a happy "I knew it!"... really liked the characters . couldn't stop listening to be honest. Immediately going onto book 2

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Razz
  • Razz
  • 12-14-20

A good book

A good read, all round enjoyable. I will definately have a look out for her 2nd book.