• The Girls in the Stilt House

  • A Novel
  • By: Kelly Mustian
  • Narrated by: Johanna Parker
  • Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (5,375 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Murder breaks through the racial divide that separates two teenage girls, forging an unlikely friendship in this Southern debut that’s perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don’t Rise.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her unbearable life on the swamp, and to her harsh father in Mississippi. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she’s holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

©2021 Kelly Mustian (P)2021 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about The Girls in the Stilt House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,005
  • 4 Stars
    1,348
  • 3 Stars
    533
  • 2 Stars
    175
  • 1 Stars
    314
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,491
  • 4 Stars
    1,011
  • 3 Stars
    565
  • 2 Stars
    281
  • 1 Stars
    552
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,891
  • 4 Stars
    1,200
  • 3 Stars
    400
  • 2 Stars
    124
  • 1 Stars
    207

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Long winded

I think this probably is a good book. It would have to be one I actually picked up and read myself maybe. Listening to it seems really long winded. I lose interest and find myself thinking about other things. I’m constantly rewinding to re- listen and I’m only in the 3rd chapter.
The narrator is horrible. Her accent is terrible and she reads in a sing song effect. It’s horrible and I just can’t listen anymore.
I don’t think this book should be compared to “Where the Crawdads Sing” which is the sole reason I used my credit for this book.

95 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

narrator

I am only on chapter three and had to stop. As a southerner, this imitation accent is so distracting I cannot focus on the story and keep drifting. The narrator does not breathe between sentences and is too sing- song to follow and immerse in the story. I was drawn to this story because it indicated it was similar to Crawdads. The story may have been similar but I cannot listen long enough to decide. My recommendation is to use a Southerner for books that require that dialect and visa versa for other regions. The dialect is almost impossible to imitate. One day I may read this book to see if it is similar to Where the Crawdad's Sing. One of my favorite books.

if you are not a Southerner, you may be interested in the book. But I cannot get past the false accent.

90 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed thoroughly

I read reviews after I finished the book (while looking for suggestions for my next listen in the you may also enjoy section). I was surprised to see how few reviews it had and how negatively people felt about the narrator. I liked her voice and the way she read. I loved the story, the history and culture all tied in. Great read/ listen.

52 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

couldn't get through the book due to narration

This book might be a good read... it seemed promising, but due to the narrator's distracting accent and sing-song like way of reading, I was unable to concentrate and finish more than a chapter or two.

41 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Poor narration

This book sounded like a great read, but I couldn’t get past the narrative. It seemed as though the narrator was putting so much emphasis on trying to have a southern drawl that I couldn’t get into the storyline.

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Narrated poorly

I tried to adjust the speed , but then the other parts narrated were either too slow or too fast. Annoying ! I couldn’t listen enough to judge the story

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story..not predictable

Focused on the right parts of the story. Think this was diserving of a better narrator. She was really off on the dialect for the region...

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Glad I persevered despite quirky narrator voice

Excellent story; kept my interest. I look forward to her next.

However, the narrator had the most irritating voice. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again here and if I keep on saying it, maybe it will change..I know I am not the only member who wonders where Audible gets these readers. It’s really hard to keep your focus and not be distracted by the narrator’s quirky voice.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

quick and engaging

I loved the characters and the story line, well written and well read, I look forward to more from this author

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book and Great Narrator!

I was glad I used one of my audible credits on this book. It was well written and the narration was great. She kept my interest and helped the story to move along at a good pace. I cant always say that about the narrators but in this case I really do feel like she was in tune with the story and was a great enhancement to it.

12 people found this helpful