adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.81

Buy for $22.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"With her third novel, Dervla McTiernan confirms she's a born storyteller." (Val McDermid)

The unputdownable number one best seller from the author of The Ruin and The Scholar.

Police corruption, an investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl's silence - three unconnected events that will prove to be linked by one small town.

While Detective Cormac Reilly faces enemies at work and trouble in his personal life, Garda Peter Fisher is relocated out of Galway with the threat of prosecution hanging over his head. But even that is not as terrible as having to work for his overbearing father, the local copper for the pretty seaside town of Roundstone.

For some, like Anna and her young daughter Tilly, Roundstone is a refuge from trauma. But even this village on the edge of the sea isn't far enough to escape from the shadows of evil men.

Praise for Dervla Mc Tiernan:

"Intelligent and fast-paced.... We can't wait [for the next case]." (Wall Street Journal)

"Top-notch crime writing." (Kate Forsyth)

"Like The Ruin, The Scholar is a fast-paced, rewarding read." (Irish Examiner)

"A truly fine police procedural that should see the author rocket from star to superstar." (Irish Independent)

"Taut, tense and darkly addictive." (Candice Fox)

"Confirms McTiernan's place in the top rank of crime writers." (Chris Hammer)

"The Ruin was an outstanding debut but The Scholar proves beyond a doubt that Dervla McTiernan is a remarkable talent...crime fiction of the highest standard." (Jane Casey)

"A story that is as moving as it is fast-paced." (Val McDermid)

"A writer to watch." (Publishers Weekly)

"Dervla McTiernan's first novel far outclasses some of the genre's stalwarts, marking her as a crime writer to watch, and Cormac Reilly a cop to follow to hell and back. Fans of Ian Rankin and Tana French will feel right at home." (Bookseller + Publisher)

©2020 Dervla McTiernan (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about The Good Turn

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-01-20

Woooohoooo out done yourself

15 words not enough words two sleepless nights and one Sunday morning the next book 📖 can’t wait for

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thonia
  • Thonia
  • 03-01-20

Why a female narrator for a male main character series!

Dervla McTiernan promises to go on to be a much celebrated crime writer, much like Tana French and Michael Connelly. The plot is complex intrigue that comes together beautifully and keeps you thinking about the story and characters, while you impatiently wait for the next opportunity you can escape to listen. But why choose a female narrator when the main character of the series is a male? The narrator drops her voice into a lower register to manufacture the many male voices in the book -so very, very uncomfortable to listen to. I returned the first book in the series after three chapters, because I found the fake male voices intolerable. I forced myself to listen to this one through to the end. The book is really great, but please change the narration model to a male for the make voices and a female voice for the ladies and girls, if you want to retain the current narrator. The man deserves to come into his own - he is a great detective and makes for a brilliant read, but not a good listen.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hannah
  • Hannah
  • 02-26-20

Brilliant!

Love, love, loved it! Couldn’t stop listening. I’ve been waiting for this book and it didn’t let me down.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peggy
  • Peggy
  • 03-09-20

Great book

Another terrific read by Dervia McTiernan. Also the narrator Aoife McMahon. Love her voice. Can’t wait for there next book

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul
  • Paul
  • 03-09-20

Gripping

Dervla tells a great story and Aoife is simply the best performer on Audible. In this particular encounter you find yourself getting wound up by the villains and injustice of the situation, I really enjoyed it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-02-20

Excellent Narration

Great to continue the story in book 3, hope youre writing book 4, very likeable lead with Det.Cormac Riley and his merry men.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-28-20

Boring

Narrator voice doesn’t meet expectations
Slow start to story
Not for me
Would return if allowed
Perhaps Audible should say b4 purchase if a book cannot be returned. Fair warning would be a good thing.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fiona Edmonds
  • Fiona Edmonds
  • 02-27-20

Engaging crime drama

I really enjoy this author, she creates interesting plotlines and enough suspense to drive the story. Her characters are engaging and interesting, and the settings are illustrated so that the reader feels a real sense of place.
I sometimes feel that Cormac Reilly, however, could do with just a touch more humanism, as s he seems too good to be true.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-09-21

Great read

Thank you for a great audio book. It kept me company in some quiet times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-15-21

Great story and narrator

It was very easy to get into this book as the narrator's reading flows well. storyline was enjoyable and looking forward to another in this series.