1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Drafted into a private army, he must fight monsters or be hunted as one....

A century after the Break destroyed much of the world, the wealthy island nation of Dios stands alone as a paradise for those that remain...so long as they aren’t poor and homeless.

For street orphan Grant Riven, life is a series of kicks in the face. Until exposure to a powerful mutating agent gives him super strength, passive-regeneration, and the ability to use powerful weapons. 

The downside? Lots of other people have mutated as well, except they’re insane and want to eat everyone.

After he’s recruited by Cloud Nine Engineering, the most powerful corporation in Dios, Grant is labeled “Hallowed” - the fancy name for his new mutation - and drafted into a war against the Mutes, the cannibalistic mutants overrunning Dios.

The deal is simple. In exchange for risking his life to fight monsters, Cloud Nine will provide him with the cure that keeps him from becoming a monster himself.

Experience the start of a pulse-pounding military sci-fi series, set in a post-apocalyptic world, from T.E. Bakutis. It's perfect for fans of Nicholas Sansbury Smith, T.W. Piperbrook, and Bobby Adair.

©2022 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about The Hallowed War

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Teenage military Sci fi

It wasn't for me, to me the MC who is very young. Acts like he's 16 or 26 depending on the situation. It's hard to understand why some choices are made. I couldn't finish it. And that happens rearly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait to read again!

The first chapter does a good job of pulling the reader in, but doesn't have a good transition into the 2nd chapter, i don't really feel it was necessary. However, once my mind finally decided events were slightly out of order, I FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK!!! I love the storytelling, I love the universe and I love the narration. I would definitely recommend this book to a sci-fi lover.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

"You look good for a dead man."

2322. In Dios, Grant Riven, orphaned aged ten six years ago, has grown up dependant on his own abilities to survive until recruited as an Hallowed, his physical form altered, it was believed, by panacea, giving him both super strengths and the power for bodily regeneration after injury. He was one of the lucky ones. Most of those infected mutated into monsters. The powerful Cloud Nine Engineering wanted him and others like him, to defend their world against these Mutes.

Following Grant through his training, friendships and missions, The Hallowed War is the first book in a new series filled with near non stop fight action with a touch of humour, conspiratorial twist and fair character development - enough to make Grant's progress important to the reader. It is a good start, more a four star than a five, enhanced by the excellent performance by Garrett Michael Brown, whose narration injects excitement into the text delivery as well as individually voicing each of the protagonists.

An enjoyable read for fans of military science fiction, the story complete but with the set-up for a following volume established

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story line, but....

The story line was real neat and different, but I really hate the f word and other cussing used way too often. Also, if you don't believe in God, keep it out of your stories and stop cutting on Him.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-05-22

Pretty Cool

Honestly one of the best sci-fi military style books I've encountered in years. looking forward book 2

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 04-02-22

"You look good for a dead man."

2322. In Dios, Grant Riven, orphaned aged ten six years ago, has grown up dependant on his own abilities to survive until recruited as an Hallowed, his physical form altered, it was believed, by panacea, giving him both super strengths and the power for bodily regeneration after injury. He was one of the lucky ones. Most of those infected mutated into monsters. The powerful Cloud Nine Engineering wanted him and others like him, to defend their world against these Mutes.

Following Grant through his training, friendships and missions, The Hallowed War is the first book in a new series filled with near non stop fight action, with a touch of humour, conspiratorial twist and fair character development - enough to make Grant's progress important to the reader. It is a good start, more a four star than a five, enhanced by the excellent performance by Garrett Michael Brown, whose narration injects excitement into the text delivery as well as individually voicing each of the protagonists.

An enjoyable read for fans of military science fiction, the story complete but with the set-up for a following volume established.