• The Hangman’s Hold

  • DCI Matilda Darke, Book 4
  • By: Michael Wood
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Beattie
  • Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (34 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Your life is in his hands. 

In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields. 

There’s a killer in your house. 

The Hangman waits in the darkness. 

He knows your darkest secrets. 

He’ll make you pay for all the crimes you have tried desperately to forget. 

And he is closer than you think. 

DCI Matilda Darke is running out of time. Fear is spreading throughout the city. As the body count rises, Matilda is targeted and her most trusted colleagues fall under suspicion. But can she keep those closest to her from harm? Or is it already too late? 

©2018 Michael Wood (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A tense, nail-biting story with a truly twisted ending." (Katerina Daimond)

“An established master of the serial killer novel takes us on another dangerous journey through the streets of Sheffield. Watch out for those twists - you won't see them coming!” (Stephen Booth)

"A gritty and atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than a hangman's knot. I loved it." (Matt Hilton)

What listeners say about The Hangman’s Hold

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the book. So glad I found this author!

Loved the book. So glad I found this author. can't wait to read the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great mystery

twists snd tirns in every chapter. Kept me wanting to know what was nexr

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

DCI Matilda Darke series continues with another winner!

I’ve listened to the DCI Matilda Darke series on Audible and, as always, never a disappointment. In this police procedural, DCI Matilda Darke and her team search for a devious serial killer. You think you know who the killer is - well, think again… and again. Author Michael Wood pens another serial killer thriller, complete with mind-bending surprises and twisty turns. Narrator Stephanie Beattie, a favorite of mine, proves her vocal skills in her perfect presentation. I’m looking forward to the next one in this series. If you’re seeking a chilling and fast-paced adventure, this is for you! Granted they are not available on Audible in series order, but I’ve found no problem with that. Worth a treasured credit or the $9.93 I paid. (I pay cash for $12-$14 or so books and save my credits.) Highly recommended with 🍒🍒 🍒 on top.

✍🏻👏🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟👏✍🏻

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-20-22

Drama a plenty

drama a plenty for darke. I enjoyed the book but got impatient at times. it dragged on. has the author thought to make the books a bit shorted and use some of it to make another one? couldn't guess the killer so that was a bonus and please can you give matilda a break? she's got the most depressing life I've ever read in one person's life. at times this book is as messed up as my own and that ia saying something. too many things going off at once and so many names to get in one storyline 🙃

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Layla Boo14
  • Layla Boo14
  • 04-03-22

Great series

I finished this book in a day and a half. I was so absorbed from the first page. I love a book that really keeps you on the edge of your seat and this book does not fail!! It was frightening and unsettling at times, but in a way that kept you engaged! The narration was, once again brilliant and really adds to the whole story telling element. As this is part of the DCI Matilda Darke series you get familiar with the characters from the previous books and they are all so likeable. The story and plot of this book was so very clever, well thought out and as I said earlier, frightening. I throughly enjoyed this book and can’t wait to finish the whole series. I’d definitely recommend this book/series to anyone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for crochetdiva
  • crochetdiva
  • 03-08-22

Really great plot

This is a great storyline, with a fantastic conclusion. I'm pretty good at guessing the killer, but this totally floored me and left me reeling. The writing is genius, and the narration is brilliant. I need more from this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr B Roberts
  • Mr B Roberts
  • 08-22-22

Sadly the last one for me

I don't think I will carry on with the series, as I think there are too many things about the stories that are detracting from the main plot. I like the stories overall and how the plot develops but ... The investigation team are more often guessing at what to do next rather than investigate, the story lines are getting more and more contrived, everyone says "F*****g hell!" after every development in the case, and "You are not going to believe this!" when something surprising happens. And there is way too many mentions of the snack drawer! Going for something different next time.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andy
  • Andy
  • 07-04-22

Excellent Performance

This is a well written plot which kept me guessing with strong characters and I am becoming a fan of Matilda Darke but the experience is greatly enhanced by the voice actor. Great narration in particular towards the final chapters as the tension builds.

There is quite a bit of police jolly female banter in this tale which I think I would struggle to read from the text and might have given up but the voice actor makes it all work and I have enjoyed listening.

I feel that this female DI would make a good television series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela
  • Angela
  • 05-14-22

cliff hanger

near the end I had 1 named auspecy in mind and a generic one. But even the generic one wasn't who I thought it would be. Enjoyed this book very much.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hello Kitty
  • Hello Kitty
  • 03-31-22

Loved it!

Great story as usual. I love this series.... can't wait for the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 03-28-22

Still enjoying

Matilda, thankfully, has lost some of her disregard for procedure. Enjoyable listen, well read. But I am finding the on going threads more tiresome. Resolve or move on please. I’m surprised that while books in a series often allude to past events, in this series, Wood tends to name the previous culprits which I imagine is frustrating if people aren’t reading them in order.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joyce Cunningham
  • Joyce Cunningham
  • 03-23-22

A Good Story

This Audio book was ruined for me by the narrator. My mind wondered continuously due to boredom .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ciaran Quinn
  • Ciaran Quinn
  • 02-23-22

Gripping

A gem of a book. Kept me entertained for hours. I'm diet it ended.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 03-23-22

Couldn’t finish

This was ok but honestly not up to some of the terrific police dramas I’ve read.
I may have read most of them and now scraping the barrel.

.