adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The brand-new thriller from the best-selling author! 

My family has just been reunited. So who is trying to tear it apart? 

A mother who disappeared....
When Beth was 10 years old, her beautiful, wild mother Alice disappeared. Beth’s life since hasn’t always been easy, but now she’s settled, with a successful career, a loving family and a beautiful home. 

An unexpected visitor....
Then one day there’s a knock at the door. Alice has returned. Desperate to rebuild their relationship, Beth invites her mother to move in.

A life that comes crashing down....
At first, everything is wonderful. But then Beth’s friends start to drift away, strange things happen at home, and rumours about Beth begin to circle. Someone is out to destroy Beth’s newfound happiness. But who? And how far will they go?

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, C. L. Taylor and Lisa Jewell 

©2021 Jackie Kabler (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

“Filled with suspense, intrigue and a cast of engaging characters, I devoured The Happy Family in two sittings. Fabulous!” (Lucy Clarke, author of The Castaways)

"This is a psychological thriller that has everything: intrigue, mystery and constant twists and turns. I couldn't put it down!" (Alex Lake, best-selling author of Seven Days)

"There is no let-up in this twisty-turny thrillerJust when you think you've cracked its secrets, your expectations are upended again." (Kate Riordan, author of The Heatwave)

What listeners say about The Happy Family

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Such a great book, I couldn’t stop listening. Character development was tremendous, the plot flowed very well, it had enough mystery to it to keep me interested. The reader was very good as well. Well paced, compelling.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • KN
  • 08-21-21

Easily predicted

I guessed the outcome of this story very quickly early on. Overall the book was entertaining enough to listen to the entire thing but absolutely wouldn’t recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Everything… but…

Another weak minded malleable woman who cannot figure things out. Another woman who was able to become a doctor but cannot use her critical thinking skills at all, she apologizes nonstop, and keeps you frustrated to the point of wanting to break your device. She also forgives a mother who walked out on her when she needed her most. Most ppl could not easily forgive that, but this woman is extremely neurotic and needy.
It simply isn’t that easy to gaslight a person either . Do women really not know if they screwed with the heat in their house? Do they actually think that they are imagining a man following them? Nah…
What about these ex husbands that so easily believe things completely out of character for the mother of their children?
Its maddening because it is always the woman who is manipulated into doubting herself . It’s not a realistic premise but always entertaining if you can handle being frustrated and remember that eventually the silly woman will realize she isn’t delusional. Ppl don’t just “ get committed” anymore either. We’ve come a little way since the movie “ gaslight “ was made. Yes it used to happen but in this day and time is highly unlikely you would be locked up for misplacing your keys.
Well written , likable character…. But, you will want to shake some sense into her. I’m taking off two stars for being rather unoriginal and dated. Otherwise worth a credit. Just suspend disbelief and try to relax. It’s just a story. Narration is fantastic, kept me so immersed time flew.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The Book Had Potential

I will say that character development was done well and usually this means the story will be so good but I was disappointed with this one. The premise was ok but I’m wondering how many times Beth repeated her paranoid thought of being outed of her past childhood act and it’s consequences. Also Beth is far to intelligent for some of the things to have happened and let go. It’s was obvious who was behind the game and why but the twist at the end was good.

Narration was excellent. In fact it’s why I listened to the end!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not Very HAPPY with THE HAPPY FAMILY

I was not very happy with "The Happy Family".

WHY? "The Happy Family" was a lackluster thriller that was predictable and anything but thrilling.

I selected the book because I enjoyed Jackie Kabler's two earlier books: "The Perfect Couple" and "Am I Guilty?" Unfortunately, "The Happy Family" lacked the compelling storyline, believability, and intrigue of the author's earlier novels. The book's whiny protagonist made the book a challenge to finish.

Narrator Helene Keeley was excellent. Even a superb narrator, however, could not help this book.

Jackie Kabler is a very talented writer and perhaps my expectations were too high. The book was well-written but all other aspects were lacking.

One star rounded up.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Oh so naive

I liked it , enjoyed the narration but I really felt that the story was drawn out. I nearly gave up but plugged on. It was suspenseful but nothing outstanding. It came through at the end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Finished this book very quickly.

Just discovered this author and really like her. I enjoyed the book although the main character was irritating at times. Was worth a credit to me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jackie Kabler Wins Again

Her books are always spot on,.. never disappointed in her taut novels of suspense..!! 5 stars