• The Happy Family

  • By: Jackie Kabler
  • Narrated by: Helen Keeley
  • Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (123 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Happy Family  By  cover art

The Happy Family

By: Jackie Kabler
Narrated by: Helen Keeley
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The brand-new thriller from the best-selling author! 

My family has just been reunited. So who is trying to tear it apart? 

A mother who disappeared....
When Beth was 10 years old, her beautiful, wild mother Alice disappeared. Beth’s life since hasn’t always been easy, but now she’s settled, with a successful career, a loving family and a beautiful home. 

An unexpected visitor....
Then one day there’s a knock at the door. Alice has returned. Desperate to rebuild their relationship, Beth invites her mother to move in.

A life that comes crashing down....
At first, everything is wonderful. But then Beth’s friends start to drift away, strange things happen at home, and rumours about Beth begin to circle. Someone is out to destroy Beth’s newfound happiness. But who? And how far will they go?

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, C. L. Taylor and Lisa Jewell 

©2021 Jackie Kabler (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

“Filled with suspense, intrigue and a cast of engaging characters, I devoured The Happy Family in two sittings. Fabulous!” (Lucy Clarke, author of The Castaways)

"This is a psychological thriller that has everything: intrigue, mystery and constant twists and turns. I couldn't put it down!" (Alex Lake, best-selling author of Seven Days)

"There is no let-up in this twisty-turny thrillerJust when you think you've cracked its secrets, your expectations are upended again." (Kate Riordan, author of The Heatwave)

What listeners say about The Happy Family

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Such a great book, I couldn’t stop listening. Character development was tremendous, the plot flowed very well, it had enough mystery to it to keep me interested. The reader was very good as well. Well paced, compelling.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • KN
  • 08-21-21

Easily predicted

I guessed the outcome of this story very quickly early on. Overall the book was entertaining enough to listen to the entire thing but absolutely wouldn’t recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Everything… but…

Another weak minded malleable woman who cannot figure things out. Another woman who was able to become a doctor but cannot use her critical thinking skills at all, she apologizes nonstop, and keeps you frustrated to the point of wanting to break your device. She also forgives a mother who walked out on her when she needed her most. Most ppl could not easily forgive that, but this woman is extremely neurotic and needy.
It simply isn’t that easy to gaslight a person either . Do women really not know if they screwed with the heat in their house? Do they actually think that they are imagining a man following them? Nah…
What about these ex husbands that so easily believe things completely out of character for the mother of their children?
Its maddening because it is always the woman who is manipulated into doubting herself . It’s not a realistic premise but always entertaining if you can handle being frustrated and remember that eventually the silly woman will realize she isn’t delusional. Ppl don’t just “ get committed” anymore either. We’ve come a little way since the movie “ gaslight “ was made. Yes it used to happen but in this day and time is highly unlikely you would be locked up for misplacing your keys.
Well written , likable character…. But, you will want to shake some sense into her. I’m taking off two stars for being rather unoriginal and dated. Otherwise worth a credit. Just suspend disbelief and try to relax. It’s just a story. Narration is fantastic, kept me so immersed time flew.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The Book Had Potential

I will say that character development was done well and usually this means the story will be so good but I was disappointed with this one. The premise was ok but I’m wondering how many times Beth repeated her paranoid thought of being outed of her past childhood act and it’s consequences. Also Beth is far to intelligent for some of the things to have happened and let go. It’s was obvious who was behind the game and why but the twist at the end was good.

Narration was excellent. In fact it’s why I listened to the end!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not Very HAPPY with THE HAPPY FAMILY

I was not very happy with "The Happy Family".

WHY? "The Happy Family" was a lackluster thriller that was predictable and anything but thrilling.

I selected the book because I enjoyed Jackie Kabler's two earlier books: "The Perfect Couple" and "Am I Guilty?" Unfortunately, "The Happy Family" lacked the compelling storyline, believability, and intrigue of the author's earlier novels. The book's whiny protagonist made the book a challenge to finish.

Narrator Helene Keeley was excellent. Even a superb narrator, however, could not help this book.

Jackie Kabler is a very talented writer and perhaps my expectations were too high. The book was well-written but all other aspects were lacking.

One star rounded up.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holy freaking bananas! Gobsmacked indeed!

Well, this certainly was a exceptionally unique offering penned by Jackie Kabler, along with the precise vocal skills of Helen Keeley. Both work perfectly together to make this psychological thriller one of the most exciting complexellent books in my Audible library; this is not my first by these brilliant women and certainly not my last. Centering on a mother reappearing after a long absence, Kabler and Keeley had me audicted from start to finish. No spoilers here. There are twisty turns, surprises galore and a {{{jaw, meet the floor}}} moments. Worth a credit and definitely the $9.92 I chose to pay to save my credits. “The Happy Family” had me screaming from the rooftop, Epic, I say! EPIC! EPIC! EPIC! Highly recommended for sure! I want more, more, more from these two exquisitely talented women.

✍🏻👏🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟✍🏻👏


  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

SABOTAGE GALOR!

This one had me frustrated!
I listened through to the end simply because I believe in finishing what I've started. Please don't get me wrong, all in all it just comes down to my personal opinion about just how much one person can take...as far as sabotage!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Frustrating

The story itself is intriguing however the main character is so unbelievably clueless that this was frustrating to listen to. How can any grown woman be this dumb? That’s hard to get around. Otherwise the narrator was very good and it ended well.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Painfully long and predictable

One of the most drawn-out and predictable thrillers I’ve ever read. I know in the first hour or so how it was going to end but thought at the time that it wouldn’t be that obvious. Wrong! At about chapter 25 I was frustrated with the weak and stupid woman who sees to be on the pages of too many psychological thrillers that I couldn’t listen for four more hours that I skipped forward ten chapters. Didn’t feel like I’d missed anything at all due to the repetitiveness. Listened to the last hour or so, which was enough to confirm what I’d known hours before. I’m so glad I skipped three+hours because I already feel like enough of my time has been wasted on this book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh

Predictivo...guessed it early on and nothing made me waiver .Narration was the best thing about it.