• The Heroic Age Trilogy

  • A Mortal Techniques Box Set
  • By: Rob J. Hayes
  • Narrated by: Kim Bretton
  • Length: 44 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (178 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Heroic Age Trilogy  By  cover art

The Heroic Age Trilogy

By: Rob J. Hayes
Narrated by: Kim Bretton
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Includes all three books in the award-winning Mortal Techniques series.

Book One: Never Die.

Ein is on a mission from God...the God of Death. Time is up for the emperor of Ten Kings, and it falls to Ein, an eight-year-old boy, to render the judgement of the reaper. He can't do it alone, but luckily the world is full of travelling heroes. There's only one catch; in order to serve him, they must first die.

Book Two: Pawn's Gambit

Yuu wants nothing more than to forget the mistakes of her past. The gods have other plans. Once a renowned strategist and general five years ago, Yuu made a mistake that cost her everything. Now, she is on the run, royal bounty hunters snapping at her heels. But, what if there was a way to get back what she lost, a way to bring back a murdered prince? Every century, the gods hold a contest to choose who will rule from the heavenly Jade throne. Each god chooses a mortal champion, and the fate of all existence hangs in the balance. On a battlefield full of heroes, warriors, assassins, and thieves, can Yuu survive long enough to learn the rules of the game, let alone master it?

Book Three: Spirits of Vengeance

Haruto swore his soul to the God of Death for the chance to hunt down the vengeful ghost of his wife. He’ll die as many times as it takes. The Ipian Empire was once a land that welcomed dragons and spirits alike, but a century of war and bloodshed has seen them all but vanish. Now, the lost things are returning, and the Onryo have gathered. Five legendary spirits with mysterious powers, bent on freeing an ancient evil that would wreak havoc on humanity. As a plague of spirits sweeps across the land, the Onryo leave a bloody trail for Haruto to follow. But, who’s hunting who?

Fans of Will Wight and Andrew Rowe will love this energetic, anime-inspired trilogy.

©2019, 2021, 2022 Rob J. Hayes (P)2022 Rob J. Hayes

What listeners say about The Heroic Age Trilogy

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing narration by Kim Bretton+ incredible story

I've read all of Rob J. Hayes' works and I love his Mortal Techniques books. This is a series of STANDALONE stories set in a world that's inspired by Asian mythologies and culture. The author while being inspired by the anime movies and Manga, gives his own spin to these stories. We have 3 different and distinct stories:

- NEVER DIE is a fantasy thriller in which an 8 year-old boy is tasked by a Shinigami to kill the emperor of ten kings. He has to gather a band of heroes but they have to die first.
- PAWN'S GAMBIT is an epic story of gods, redemption and a once-a-century competition where the next Lord of the heaven will be selected. Daiyuu Lingsen, a war strategist will have to overcome her guilt and help a cranky goddess win the contest.
- SPIRITS OF VENGEANCE is an epic fantasy that focuses on 5 Onryo who have returned to wreak havoc and the Onmyoji Haruto (Witcher for the lack of a better word) who hunts them while also searching for someone important to him.

These stories are set in the lands of Hosa and Ipia and give the readers three incredible and different reads. But the audiobooks are something else and it's all due to the magic that Kim Bretton brings.

She narrates all three stories and voices many different characters such as Yuu, Itami Cho, Haruto, etc. But her true talents lie in modulating her voice and inflections and bringing to life the quirky characters such as Iron Gut Chen (with his nasal voice), Natsuko with her dual personas of a grumpy grandmom & a carefree young girl (both having distinct voices and cackles), Guang (with his weathered voice & cursing with vegetables).

All of this and more will be showcased by Kim with her wonderful narration. This box set is over 44 hours of incredible storytelling that's matched by a voice narrator who pulls out all the stops.

BUY THIS OMNIBUS AUDIO EDITION & you won't be disappointed! I can't wait to read/hear more stories set in the Mortal techniques world.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best hidden gem on audible

Had I found these books as individual listens I would have gladly used a credit for each and considered them well spent. All three for one credit? you are a fool if you don't listen.

From richly developed characters, to a hauntingly engaging plot, these stories draw the listener into a complex world festooned with the unexpected. Even better is the fact that they are brilliantly depicted through the voice of a narrator whose deft handling of each character brings them to life in a way few can match, and none surpass.

Absolutely brilliant storytelling, the likes of which I've rarely encountered on audible or in print.

I hope there's more to come because this narrative voice is one I long to hear again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pure Perfection

I'm a fan of Rob J Hayes and I'm a fan of Kim Bretton and this boxset is pure perfection. Every character, every quest, every motivation is comprehensive, exciting, surprising and satisfying. Storytelling at its best. Rob is an insightful and delightful writer and Kim brings a new voice and energy to each character and her care, nuance and professionalism are astounding. I binged the whole thing even though I'd listened to Never Die and Pawn's Gambit when they were first released, And I'll end up listening again!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great stories, great narration.

Started out not liking it. About halfway through book one I was hooked. The follow-ups didn't waver but stayed consistent in overall story quality. I would absolutely recommend these books. I wouldn't however recommend buying antique mirrors. lol

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horrible narration

The narrator was so bad I couldn't even tell if the story or writing was any good. I tapped out about 30min into this. It was like listening to a 5yr old read to me. The voices were garbage, just about all the voices sounded the same especially the males, mispronounced words made it hard to understand what she was talking about at times, the emphasis and importance were placed at odd times that didn't make sense. Only twice have I ever felt like I wasted a credit. I can't remember if it's still a thing, but hopefully I can return this hot pile of garbage. maybe the book itself isn't bad, but I'd sure like to flag this narrator so I can be warned anytime she's done a book I'm interested in so I can avoid it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome story

This box set was absolutely awesome. Each story blended beautifully together. If there is going to be another book I can’t wait to be on the pro order list.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Epic

What firstly starts out as a simple wuxia tale quickly escalates as unforeseen twists and memorable characters are introduced to the story.

The action is extremely well written and pays ample tribute to the wuxia inspired comics I loved as a kid by gifting each character a special “technique” that represents their unique brand of martial skill!

I loved, too, the deep interplay between the mortal and spiritual and how the East/Asian mythos was so well written into all three books.

I truly hope this is a series that will become ongoing, as I’m a fan for life!!

Give it a try, because you will become one, too!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fan friking Tastic

what a great story. great performance, loved it. it was a great deal also all 4 books.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration made no sense

I enjoyed the story, the British sometimes "Scottish" narration made no sense. The characters are supposed to be an Asian Warlords or ancient Asian Gods. I wish I could keep listening but I can't.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It is nothing

It is nothing close to litrpg. Yet they connected love for litrpg to this is the story for you. The story is okay, but it ain't the style I was looking for and so I give it 4 stars for being its own thing, but in my mind it is 3 stars.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dejan
  • Dejan
  • 04-16-22

gets better as the series goes on

Highly recommended this box set, it's excellent value for 3 worthwhile books. The first book is good, the second one gets better and has a second half the pays off for the slower, but good, first half and the third book is very good.
I look forward to listening to more installments in this series.

The narrator's English accent was distracting at first (because of the Asian inspired settings) but she also grew on me, and by the end I thought she was excellent.