adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.50

Buy for $24.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Hiding Place is terrific in every way.” (Lee Child) 

From the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man comes an unputdownable psychological thriller about a man who returns home to settle old scores - and uncovers a secret darker than he could have imagined. 

Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang - the betrayal, the suicide - and what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn’t have a choice, not after a chilling email surfaces in his inbox: I know what happened to your sister. It’s happening again.... 

Lying his way into a teaching job at his former high school is the easy part. Facing off with onetime friends who aren’t too happy to have him back in town - while avoiding the enemies he’s made in the years since - is tougher. But the hardest part of all will be returning to the abandoned mine where his life changed forever, and finally confronting the horrifying truth about Arnhill, his sister, and himself. Because for Joe, the worst moment of his life wasn’t the day his sister went missing. It was the day she came back. 

©2019 C. J. Tudor (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“Tudor maintains a tone of creeping dread throughout the book, of something lingering always in the background, coyly hiding its face while whispering promises of very bad things to come. In the last quarter, however, she goes for broke with outright horror, giving readers an effective jolt of adrenaline that will carry them all the way to the terrifying conclusion. Readers won’t know what hit them. Tudor came out swinging with The Chalk Man, but this one puts her firmly on the map. Not to be missed.” (Kirkus)

“Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy." (Booklist)

"Some writers have it, and some don't. CJ Tudor has it big time - The Hiding Place is terrific in every way." (Lee Child) 

What listeners say about The Hiding Place

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    304
  • 4 Stars
    186
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    424
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    250
  • 4 Stars
    164
  • 3 Stars
    107
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Horror with a touch of wisdom

This is a wildly implausible story transformed into a very good one owing partly to clever writing, but mostly to the superb performance of Richard Armitage. It's good enough to make me want to hear CJ Tudor's next novel, whatever it may turn out to be, as long as Richard Armitage performs it!

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Confused

So many unanswered questions. The main character was annoyingly surly, by which I mean that was his only emotion throughout the whole book. Some plot events were unbelievable and convenient. I listened to the whole thing hoping for an explanation but never got one.
I did like the idea of the story, and the performance was great!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Please Make This a Movie?!

I just finished listening to this book. This was my first time reading anything from @cjtudor I am very pleased. This was a fantastic book. I love the story, very compelling and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading more of her stories. I have heard her called the British Stephen King, but I think this book is better than most of his books. I really and truly hope that this book is made into a movie or a Netflix special or something. Now I just have to go back and listen to the Chalk Man, and wish it was narrated by Mr. Armitage. I was surprised by the prologue and epilogue, I know that Mr. Armitage is talented, but to change is voice so much that its hardly recognizable is amazing. I am in awe of his talent.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really Interesting Twists

I kept waiting for more horror but by the end I had imagined all the horror necessary! I loved the plot twists, a few I can honestly say I didn't see coming. I didn't even try because the writing kept me engaged and there was no need to try to "jump ahead".

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

The narration was superb! The story on the other hand was a convoluted mess. I was looking forward to this after reading The Chalk Man. I’m having a hard time believing that CJ Tudor wrote this. Avoid this book!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Creepy and suspenseful

I I admit I only ordered this because it was recommended by Lee Child. However I could not stop listening. I usually figure out the plot long before the end but, I didn't figure this one out. Not a dull moment. I very much enjoyed the book and I am headed back for another by this author. Give it a try.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

The story only gets going towards the end, and then only briefly. Ultimately unsatisfying. Will look at reviews before reading the author’s next

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not your average story

I can understand why some of the reviewers were confused. This story has a lot of depth and there are multiple characters plots happening that stretch over a number of years.

So if you’re looking for something to “just” listen to - this probably isn’t for you. You need to pay attention but the end result is fantastic and a great story line that will keep you wondering for a long time after you’ve finished the book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N.
  • 07-11-19

Excellent!

Tudor's writing is wonderful and the story pulls you along. It was not what I expected and that made it all the more enjoyable. Narration by Armitage is spot on, as always. His voice makes the emotions of the characters live and you feel Joe's frustration tingle in your fingertips and his fear deep in your gut. This author/narrator team woks.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Sophomoric Effort!

C.J. is quickly becoming my new favorite author. This is another finely woven tale with some great twists and excellent characters. Her writing is fantastic and I absolutely cannot wait for her third offering. The performer while different from The Chalk Man, still brought to life the characters beautifully. When the reader nails these audible books, it is like watching a picture show without the pictures. Richard Admits he does just that with a superb performance. Get this book and any others you find written by C.J. Tudor.

3 people found this helpful