• The Hiding Place

  • An Absolutely Heart-Stopping Crime Thriller (Detective Morgan Brookes, Book 3)
  • By: Helen Phifer
  • Narrated by: Alison Campbell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (207 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The little girl peered down the dark alleyway. She knew she wasn’t supposed to take this shortcut, and her mother would kill her if she found out, but it was raining and all she wanted was to get home quickly. She stepped forward, not seeing the silent figure following her into the dark passageway....

When nine-year-old Charlotte Standish goes missing from her street in the small town of Rydale Falls, it sparks a media frenzy. Detective Morgan Brookes leads a frantic hunt for the girl, but little Charlie seems to have vanished into thin air. 

Chasing up a lead at Charlie’s school, Morgan is chilled to learn that this isn’t the first time a child has gone missing on this street. Another girl disappeared 15 years ago, and Morgan is the only one who thinks the cases could be related. But in the moment that she takes her eye off Charlie’s case to investigate the link between the two girls, another child, Macy, goes missing. 

Then Morgan gets the call she was dreading, Charlie’s lifeless body has been found in a local park, lying in the shadow of a large tree. Morgan has let one girl down, but she refuses to give up on Macy. Determined to find an overlooked clue, she retraces Macy’s last steps. She’s getting close to the truth when her partner, Detective Ben Matthews, is attacked outside Morgan’s home. Is a twisted killer isolating Morgan from her team? And how long does Macy have left to live? Morgan must solve the case before more innocent lives are taken....

A nail-biting crime thriller that will keep you up all night, for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Patricia Gibney.

©2021 Helen Phifer (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Hiding Place

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    144
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

full but I want seconds

seriously, this woman knows how to write. this was another fast paced, easy to follow, hold your attention, can't put down book. so much that I love about this book, but I really love how Morgan's love life doesn't overshadow her work and responsibility to the victims. please please please write another book in this series!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another stellar book.

I have come to adore these characters and love the narrator. can't wait to see what Morgan gets into next!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Book

very exciting and well written with a wonderful performance. Going on to the next one.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Solid Series

I really enjoy the Helen Pfifer books. They keep you wanting to know what’s next. I just wish they would explore the series’ characters more in depth.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Hiding Place

This was a short read but good. I thought Morgan Brooks was a great detective

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Another great addition to the series. I am absolutely hooked! Not a film moment.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Was Just Eh

The killer’s identity is revealed in the first hour taking away the suspense of the story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable, a bit repetitive

I really enjoyed this series at the beginning. But now, on the third book, yet again, Morgan is in the wrong place at the right time and solves the case. But again, she’s in great peril. The same formula for the third time. It’s also a little unbelievable that this savant detective not only lets her phone die and then forgets it in the car. She’s brilliant at times, but then other times she just seems to not pay attention.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Just NO

I wish I could get a refund! it was awful. im surprised at the good reviews here.. this was trash.. Also, Why did 2 characters never entertain a love life? there is nothing fast paced about this book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing Ending

Went through the whole series of books being teased on the what ifs and then nothing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anon
  • Anon
  • 06-19-22

Childish voice.

Storyline quite good but presented and read by a narrator who sounds like she's reading an Enid Blyton story to a class of primary school children! WRONG narrator for this type of book!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. Rokison
  • R. Rokison
  • 04-09-22

Poorly written and a dull story

I was very disappointed with this audio book. The writing was very mediocre and the characters spoke in platitudes throughout. The story was predictable and there were no surprises or twists of any kind.
The reader was over dramatic (possibly trying to make the book more interesting) and her voice became annoying by the end.
Rather a waste of time, I’m afraid.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 10-13-21

Okay

Still can’t bear Morgan! For example “she LET him do the talking “! Big of her given the “him” involved is her boss. Listening because I like the other characters.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine
  • Christine
  • 08-18-21

mild

I found the story predictable, full of police procedure errors, the narrator would be better suited to read children's books and at times it was positively up-chuck.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa Harwood
  • Teresa Harwood
  • 06-10-21

A satisfying read

Another brilliant book in the series. Morgan Brookes is racing against time to identify a murderer and find his latest kidnap victim. A really satisfying read, full of twists and turns. Looking forward to the next in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 06-10-21

No no no

There isn’t much you can write about in a kidnapping all of it is boring. I stuck in a few chapters but no no too dull and dreary.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kayezzz
  • Kayezzz
  • 07-18-22

Predictable 😒

The killer was pretty obvious, and Morgan has to be the most naive and gullible female Detective of any book I've read or listened to 😖 despite her supposed crime solving ability where miraculously everything turns out well, it's just not realistic. Don't think I'll bother following this series as judging by the ending, I can more than likely guess how the next one will end as well! 🤨

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-29-22

Well written and narrated.

Well written and narrated. When you listen to an audiobook and you smile, you get goosebumps, you feel tears well in your eyes, you know you’ve picked a good one.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-05-21

Good story, narration bad

Good story, very gripping. But the narrator's voice sounded like she should was reading a child's book. The character's sounded like children. Voice very distracting from story