adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect....

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, pause-resisting novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge...and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of 30-something friends from Oxford meets to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students 10 years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands - the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves. 

They arrive on December 30, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now, one of them is dead...and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

©2019 Lucy Foley (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Hunting Party

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,650
  • 4 Stars
    2,493
  • 3 Stars
    952
  • 2 Stars
    178
  • 1 Stars
    71
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,765
  • 4 Stars
    1,346
  • 3 Stars
    323
  • 2 Stars
    55
  • 1 Stars
    30
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,975
  • 4 Stars
    2,142
  • 3 Stars
    1,043
  • 2 Stars
    231
  • 1 Stars
    92

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I bought this for 7 bucks; I wouldn't pay 8

This is is a mash-up of just about every murder mystery/ not so psychological thriller you can think of, and not a very good one at that. There may be a cliche this author missed, but I can't think of it. And while that sometimes works, this time, it doesn't. I would have given it one star all the way, except I got kind of fascinated to see how far she could push this. Well, the answer is all the way. Secrets, serial killer on the loose, weather, isolation, weird foreigners, damaged characters, unreliable narrators, dark pasts. It's all in the soup - narrated in too many ridiculous accents by too many voices of characters who are mostly unbelievable and generally unlikable. There's a body found right up front, so the only relief is that you know one of them is going to die. Oh, and the Oxford stuff is waaay wrong. Don't waste the time, much less a credit on this one.

60 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but not Gripping

for the most part I enjoyed the book - while overly long, the narrative managed to keep me interested with the changing POVs - overall it was a decent whodunit.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Never written a review before but felt compelled after listening to this one. I love a good mystery but feel that it's hard to find one I'm not critical of. That said, I loved this one. Interesting characters that reminded me of real people I have encountered. Good use of going back and forth in time. At the beginning of each chapter they clearly state how many days pre or post incident which I find more helpful than dates. Great narrators. I especially loved the setting... This is a great book to listen to in the winter with a hot cup of tea or coffee.

53 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dull, Unoriginal, Uninspired

If every member of the hunting party could have been killed off in the first few chapters, this would have been a more interesting book. (What unsympathetic, self indulgent, and one dimensional characters).The twist was just silly. Don’t waste your time or money.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Nothing new here

It wasn't the worst book I've read, but it was boring. Though certainly in the vain of Ruth Ware and Tana French as others have said, but it just failed to grab me.

It moved so slowly. I fell asleep at one point, woke up further along in the book and didn't bother to go back. I've still got 45 minutes left but I think I'll skip it.

I didn't really feel anything about the characters, the story. Nothing new. Nothing interesting.

Just blah.







18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In a Dark, Dark wood?

Better story than A Dark Dark Wood but man, the similarities are lawsuit worthy. Kind of strange that it slipped through.

30 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good, but story has been done before

This story is VERY similar to a book called “In a Dark, Dark Wood” from 2015. That turned me off a bit, that it wasn’t very original. In the beginning of the book you have lots of characters thrown at you with very little description. I started getting lost on who was who, so I rewound it and listened ti the first 5 or 6 chapters over again. Aside from that, the performance was very good and the story enjoyable. It’s got a little mystery, small amount of macabre and a bit of romance -so to speak. Very good.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Does not portray women kindly

Third book I've read from this author. They are good lazy afternoon entertainment, but I've now become well aware that there is always going to be a female character portrayed as a jealous stalker of another female character. It's a cliche and demeaning stereotype, and this will be my last book from this author.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspense novel at its' best!

I originally bought this novel because of the narrator Imogen Church and realized another narrator read Behind Her Eyes which is one of my FAVORITE stories! This was a great surprise. The storyline was great and the characters had depth. I would have liked more on Doug's back story and to see Heather and Doug continue their lodge journey. Maybe a second?? Read this book!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Obvious and too long

The plot was solid, that’s why the 3 stars, but otherwise it was disappointing

I had the full plot figured out along with who done it within the first quarter of the book.

It was also slow to unwind and I didn’t feel invested in any of the characters besides maybe Heather a bit. But not enough.

13 people found this helpful